Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Baptist School

Private | PK-8 | 215 students

Educating children to be Catholic leaders in today's global economy.
 
 

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $127,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

I come from a strong Catholic School back ground and to see the same discipline, nurturing and spiritual growth that I went through, convinces me that St John s in Plum is number one. Other than the disappearance of the nuns I am very impressed with the qualified teachers and principal that treat you like one of the family. Involvement is the key to a child s success and at St John s it is easy to become a part of because everyone is of one team. From the parents to the principal down to the youngest of the preschoolers, the upper class is always so willing to teach good examples to the lower class. This is an excellent place to watch our children grow into becoming a leader in one form or another and in setting a good strong foundation for their future lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2014

Fantastic school; the principal works continually with parents and staff to come up with new & exciting programs, opportunities & creative fundraisers. All children are given a great deal of love & care. The school teaches Catholic values and prepare students for contributing to the world of today and tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2014

St. John the Baptist School is a wonderful school where the teachers are caring, nurturing, and excellent educators. There are many extra-curricular activities for the kids. The parents get involved and I have made many good friends with other parents. My older 2 who went to St. John's were extremely well-prepared for high school. It's a great community and worth the financial struggle of coming up with tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2014

I was hired here in May 2014 to teach at St. John the Baptist School. It was the best decision I have ever made, I am so impressed with the teachers, principal and students of this school. The teachers are highly qualified and dedicated to their profession- they are kind, caring and strive to bring out the best in each and every student. The principal is wonderful- a former teacher herself who strives to make sure that parents, teachers and students work together for the academic and personal success of the children. The students are highly motivated to do well in school because of the positive atmosphere St. John's encourages. The parents are wonderful to work with- they want the best for their child and are willing to work with the teachers to help their child succeed. It is truly a family atmosphere!! If you are considering placing your child in a private school that encourages academic success, personal and spiritual growth, consider St. John the Baptist School in Plum PA. You will not be disappointed!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2014

St John the Baptist is a wonderful school with caring teachers. The teachers work with you and make you a part of your child's education. My daughter excelled at St John's and was way ahead of others when she moved on to Oakland Catholic where she took all honors classes. She still talks about her days at St John's and all the wonderful memories of sports, passion play, May crowning, etc. What she learned at St John's such as study habits, orginizational skills along with the curriculum have helped prepare her for a very tough major in college. I am very pleased with our choice of St John the Baptist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2014

My wife attended Catholic schools through high school, while I attended schools in Plum. When my wife told me that she wanted to send our children to a Catholic school, I balked - public schools were good enough for me back when, and it was an extra expense. But, I finally agreed, and we visited several schools before deciding on St. John's - it was the best decision we've ever made for our children. The teachers all have different personalities, but the one thing they all have in common is that they are great teachers. They are great teachers because they care about each and every student - no one will fall through the cracks. If there was an issue, it was addressed through a note home, a phone call, a parent - teacher conference. There are some who might say that the facilities need updated, but I don't think so - the facilities look like those of a classic elementary school, and have everything an elementary school needs. We had 5 children in St. John's, and two have moved on to high school, which has been so much easier for them because of St. John's. The best thing parents can do for their children is to give them the best education possible - St. John's is that place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

Our daughter has been attending this school now for several years, and we couldn't be happier. She absolutely loves it. Small classes, great hands on attention. Feels like a family. St. John's is a great place for her to learn and grow in order to prepare for High school. The faculty is always there for questions, and extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2014

One of the best decisions I ever made was to enroll my son in St. John the Baptist School. Not only is he getting a great education in a loving atmosphere, we have also gained a whole new family, the St. John's family. The teachers truly love and respect the children. We could not be happier!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

As a current teacher (for 22 years) and parent...and an alumna of the school, I encourage any parent reading this to visit St. John the Baptist School. It is an extremely family oriented setting which includes a phenomenal staff of highly educated teachers who LOVE teaching here. We take great pride in our vocation of educating our students in academics, faith formation, arts, physical education and technology while partnering with parents to help them to grow to become the next generation of leaders in faith and in all aspects of life. This evidence is available when you visit and inquire about our standardized test scores. Your child is worth your time in visiting and inquiring about our school. We are working diligently to find ways to help parents reduce the tuition they pay. There are a number of great options for you. You won't find a more dedicated, hard-working staff anywhere! Come in and take a tour. You'll be very satisfied and pleased that you did! Submitted by a teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

St. John the Baptist School has had, in the past 8-10 years, many, many students who graduated with honors and high honors...not to mention the great number of students who graduated high school as valedictorians and salutatorians. We're proud parents of children who consistently hold places on the high honor roll! We couldn't be more pleased. Our children love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Excellent in every way. Could not be happier! Children of all abilities excel in our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

This school has low academic standards. The teachers lack a strong educational background and experience in teaching. The current principal does not have the skills to perform the duties needed to run a strong and successful school. The parents are treated like outsiders not as part of a partnership to foster a child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I am extremely satisfied and happy with St. John the Baptist School. Our students routinely score 2-3 levels above their current grade level on standardized tests. In addition, there is a wide range of extra curricular activities from sports to band.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 71%
Black 1% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Theresa A. Szmed
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (412) 793-4001

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The path to your child's success starts at St. John the Baptist School. We have a family environment, where every child is nurtured to learn at his or her own pace. Our accelerated academic program enables our students to score 2 to 3 grade levels above other students on standardized tests. Students learn and experience their Catholic faith through our religious education classes, values program, and social justice service learning activities. Our graduates are the Catholic leaders of today.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
22
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
22

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Plum Borough High School
Serra Catholic High School
Central Catholic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

418 Unity Center Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15239
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 793-0555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Regency Park El School
Pittsburgh, PA



Pivik El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Washington El School
Pittsburgh, PA


Forbes El School
Verona, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT