Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bede School

Private | K-8 | 317 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2010

The schools ability to create a community spirit in all the kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It has a high standard, is inclusive, active in the community and consistently wins the Future Cities award in DC, and other honors. Mostly, thought, the teachers have a special quality that inspires the students to learn. And a pastor and parish who support them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

Our son absolutely loves St. Bede. The community is fantastic, and the children are taught responsibility for themselves, and well as to the world around them. It is a warm and nurturing environment, as well as academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

St Bede School has a long and lasting tradition of quality education. I was once a student there and am now a parent of children who attended St Bede. They have an excellent Principal in charge of the school and the parents are involved in maintaining the quality of the school and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

My child has had a wonderful experience for the past six years at this school. The small classroom size allows teachers to have a rfelationship with students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My dd hated St. Bede School. Parent s and students are so clicky. Your child (and you) will be excluded if your parents and grandparents didn t attend the school. There is no diversity in this school. The school has a very snobby and hoity-toity atmosphere. The teachers are so bad. The learning environment is poor. My dd was told not to like robots or cars but to play with the kitchen toys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

We've had an excellent overall experience at St Bede. All our kids have flourished there and those who have already moved on to high school have been well prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2009

There are lots of unprepared teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2009

Children are placed under a terrible environment and strict procedures that diminish their creativity. Teachers are not understanding of each child's individual needs. A horrible school experience to put your child through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

As an educator in the Philadelphia School District, I appreciate the quality education my son has recieved at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Black 5% 15%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6920 Edgerton Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15208
Phone: (412) 661-9425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pittsburgh New Church
Pittsburgh, PA


Pittsburgh Linden K-5
Pittsburgh, PA


Ellis School
Pittsburgh, PA



Holy Rosary School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT