Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Leonard-St Mary Of The Mount Academy

Private | PK-8 | 182 students

We are best known for Service to our community.

 
 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $94,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2012

BLSMMA what can I say about the school well for one the staff is amazing. From the office to the classroom they go above and beyond to make sure your child gets the best education .The parents are also amazing very much involved with the school. They have sports programs ,after school programs and daycare The school its self is very clean, great gym and lunch room. And we don't want to forget the schools alumni they are one of a kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

I am a mother of a 7th grader, and I am very pleased with the education my child us receiving. The teachers and staff are excellent. They will go out of there way to make sure my child understands the work that they teaching. I love the smaller class sizes because, it allows the teachers to give the students more time with them individually. I can't see placing my child in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

My son attended this school and my daughter still attends. My son was well prepared for high school when leaving BLSMMA. My daughter is exceeding in all her classes. Our staff takes pride in the academics they teach. We are a tight knit school family. We provide a great education and strong catholic beliefs. We are centrally located on Mt. Washington, close to downtown Pgh. You could reach your child in less then 10 minutes in case of an emergency. We have a state accredited child care for before and after school care. We have a great sports program and provide the children with plenty of extra curricular activitites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Both of my kids went to St. Mary of the Mount now BLSMMA, and both graduated number one in their class in 8th grade. They went on to a catholic high school and did extemely well. They received a great education along with strong moral guidance to prepare them and guide them for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My son attended this school coming from public school. When he came he was behind in reading and math. After a few months he was caught up thanks to the dedicated teachers and staff at BLSMMA. Currently my daughter is attending this school. She is doing great. The principle, staff and teachers are wonderful.. Lots of community activities. Very happy with BLSMMA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

My son is a student at BLSMMA. He is doing great here. The leadership by our principal is very good, strict when need be but cares about each and every child in the school. She makes it a good learning environment. The teachers have great teaching skills, They have full control of their classroom, but easily accessable for questions or when a student needs help. My son has blossomed here. BLSMMA is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

BLSMMA is an outstanding school with many dedicated teachers and staff members. We do more than educate the child academically, we also allow them to grow spiritually, emotionally and socially. We invite anyone to come and visit us for the day to witness this. If you don't. then you really have no reason to speak negatively of us. The only challenge left is to somehow get everyone to accept that it is a merger school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2011

My son is about to graduate from BLSMMA. I am very disappointed in the education he has received. Several of our friends have taken their children out of catholic schools and put them in public schools only to find out that their straight A students are now significantly behind in all their subjects. BLSMMA has done nothing to prepare our son for high-school. In my opinion the school is a glorified Day-Care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I am the parent of a first grader at blsmma. my daughter has attended blsmma since her first year in pre-school. The teachers are excellent! The school has come a long way in the last few years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

This school has great teachers that care about the kids. They do all kinds of fund raisers to help the kids have field trips. They offer a daycare center for 2 yrs and up, afterschool program, summer program. The parents are involved with the school. They have a variety of sports they offer for 3rd grade and up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 71%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Boys Varsity Diocesan Champions (2011)
  • Cheerleading Diocesan Champions (2011)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Cindy Baldrige
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Seton La-Salle
Bishop Canevin
Central Catholic
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Bigham Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
Phone: (412) 431-4645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pittsburgh CAPA
Pittsburgh, PA


Pittsburgh Capa 6-12
Pittsburgh, PA



Pittsburgh Conroy
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT