Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Teresa of Avila School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

St teresa of Avila has loving and caring teachers, supportive parents and a strong leader in our principal. Our students learn about God in all subject and practice in service projects and in other aspects of our school. Our school is a blessing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Teresa of Avila provides an outstanding education, wonderful school family, many team sports and extra activities not found in many schools. Choose St. Teresa and give your child a first class education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

My kids school is great. They feel so comfortable and loved. They are challenged daily, but also know that it is okay to be a kid. There is a great sense of community from preK to 8th grade. It is one of the best academic schools in the area. Although athletics and activities are not the focus of the school they challenge the kids to have a balance in life. We are so very lucky to have such a school so close to our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. T's provides a home away from home for children. It is a place where the principal, teachers, and other parents really know and care about your child. Most importantly, St. Teresa's cultivates children that are smart, self-assured, and most importantly, caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Teresa School has the most supported faculty and parent involvement is unbelievable. The principal greets every single child every single day . The teachers love the children as their own. This is my son's last year. We are very sad to say goodbye. What I can say is that my son is well prepared to start high school. They have taught the children to reach out to the needy by doing yearly service visits. I had two children go thru St. Teresa from PreK to 8th grade. It was the best decision on choosing St. Teresa School for our family. I will alway highly recommend the school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Teresa School focuses on fostering the hearts, minds, and souls of each of its students. Students not only thrive academically, but are nurtured in a caring environment that stresses Christian values. In today's uncertain world, it is comforting to know that your child and family are members of a tight-knit community where people care for and respect one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Excellent pre-K- 8 school! I simply cannot say enough about St. Teresa of Avila School; it is an absolute gem and among the best schools in the Pittsburgh area. The academics are top notch. In particular, the math and reading programs are exceptional. I love that students learn Spanish starting in Kindergarten. The teachers are fabulous and the children are given lots of personal attention. The teachers truly care about their students. In addition to strong academics, the school has excellent athletic and music programs. The art curriculum is also wonderful. Students also start taking iPad class in kindergarten! Students are very caring toward each other and are kind and respectful to others. It is a wonderful, welcoming, nurturing school community. I cannot say enough about this wonderful school! If you want a first-rate education for your child as well as a supportive, loving, nurturing environment, look no further than St. Teresa of Avila School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Our children are in their early elementary years and we have been extremely pleased with St. Teresa of Avila School. The school environment cares for the whole child: the academic classes, the specials, education on our faith, and focus on their interactions with the larger community through service projects. The teachers have a good rapport with the students, and our children are challenged and supported in their learning. The dedicated teachers, close-knit community, and seeing how our children have thrived make us grateful that we chose St. Teresa of Avila.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Excellent school! My children attended St. Teresa School through 8th grade. Great teachers, perfect class sizes, super athletic and music programs, etc. Lots of personal attention. My kids went to high school at North Allegheny and were well-prepared academically...older two placed in honors classes as 9th graders. St. Teresa's before and after school care program is affordable and flexible if you need it. Overall, we were very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

My son loves it here. The teachers and staff are wonderful. My favorite is hearing him come home and tell me everything that he's learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My son just began high school after attending St. Teresa Avila School for 9 years. He was very well prepared for the transition academically, emotionally, and maturity. The programs at St. Teresa's prepared him for academics, music, and sports. My other two children are also doing well at the school. The parents are highly involved with the programs and activities. In fact without parents the programs could not continue. PTG is very strong. I am very pleased to be part of the school family and recommend it to anyone who wants a well-run school with many options for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Avila Court
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Phone: (412) 367-9001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




West View El School
Pittsburgh, PA



Highcliff El School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT