Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ellis School 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Parents please BEWARE and WARNED. This school does nothing about student bullying except become more concerned for their own reputation and liability issues than a student who has been severly bullied and the psychological aspects that stem from it and when a school administration and Teachers are not compassionate enough to care, it is even more detrimental to that student who is already a victim. We all know what the future of child who does not get validation from being attacked in a place where she/he is supposet to be protected and safe (over the course of two years) can lead to mental problems and suicide. I am over 55 and a grandparent of a student who attended here (NO MORE thank god) My grandaughter is devasted by this and we are hoping she will get through it somehow. She is just starting out in school. We teach our children right from wrong and it is shame that at Ellis if you are the victum than it is that child that is segregated from the class which just manifests other children to mistreat a bullyed child daily. The administration does not have to worry as to why this child is not eating or is so depressed (at 6 years of age) that she does not want to get out of bed. THIS HAS GOT TO STOP AND ELLIS BETTER GET A GRIP SOON OR THEY WILL BE EXPOSED BY SOME OTHER FAMILY IN THE FUTURE. THE COUNCELORS ARE GREAT BUT THEY ARE HELPLESS AGAINST THIS ADMINISTRATION. SO PARENTS BEWARE AND READ OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT THIS VERY SAME ISSUE.

Ellis School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Horrible - NO COMPASSION, NO CARING, NO EMPATHY what so ever in my eyes. Bullying started last year when some students traumatized by only ONE child would have their lunches taken away and not able to eat.


Ellis School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Parents BEWARE and WARNED. I am very disappointed in this administration as well as a few teachers with regards to how they handle bullying. They are more concerned for their own reputation and liability issues than a student who has been bullied and the psychological aspects that stem from it. THIS HAS GOT TO STOP AND ELLIS BETTER GET A GRIP SOON OR THEY WILL BE EXPOSED BY SOME OTHER FAMILY IN THE FUTURE. THE COUNSELORS ARE GREAT BUT THEY ARE HELPLESS AGAINST THIS ADMINISTRATION. SO PARENTS BEWARE AND READ OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT THIS VERY SAME ISSUE. It is more devastating to a child who has been a victim of bullying when their own teacher and administration does not stand behind them. Instead, at Ellis, they will treat the bullied child as though THEY are at fault and dismiss them from their school. Making that child feel worthless. I am hopeful this has not scared my granddaughter. She already has trouble sleeping and eating and needs counseling from all this. So parents please beware. It's not just the bully but how a school handles it is very important to the well being and growth of a child this young. Physical bullying in schools NEEDS to END -

Ellis School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is just finishing kindergarten at Ellis and loves going to school each day. The teachers and school staff are wonderful - everyone seems to care passionately about the students and the school. We visited and considered Winchester, Falk, Shadyside, Carlow, and the magnet schools - for us, Ellis stood out. Objectively, math is an area where her skills really seem ahead of typical kindergarten level. The school also does a great job of fueling her curiosity to explore and learn about new things. The tuition is expensive. I feel that it still represents a good value, but the school will need to keep find ways to keep it in check or risk losing families like ours who do not qualify for financial aid, but still have enough cost sensitivity to consider other options.

Ellis School 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
We love Ellis. The teachers and staff are amazing people who want the best for our daughter. It has helped her become more confident and willing to try new things. So glad our daughter is an Ellis girl!


Ellis School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The Ellis School is a 100 year old model for single sex girl's education. It has a culture and program dedicated to the success of female studetns and leaders. What I respect most about Ellis is the continued dedication to providing a state of the art education with the latest teaching styles and technology. My daughter comes come from school every day happy, and skips to school in the morning. This is not a sentiment that any school can easily create in students and it is emblematic of the culture of excellent. As time goes by, we are learning more and more about the necessity and impace of a single sex education especically for young girls. In our society at the corporate, political and leadershp venues women are underrepresented. A significant proportion of our female leaders in these domains have been a part of a single sex education which adds further credence to Ellis and its mission. I simply cannot imagine another school for my daughter.

Ellis School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Ellis is an amazing school! As a parent, I very much value the strong focus on learning that's a key part of the curriculum. In addition, there are many sports opportunities currently available, as well as initiatives to further increase its athletic program. The school provides an environment that reinforces all the right values -- academics, sports, leadership -- that develop a young girl into a well-rounded individual. It's also important to note that Ellis girls set high standards for themselves and in the process, encourage each other to stretch. And last but not least, the Ellis community has a lot of fun together!!

Ellis School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is just finishing the 9th grade at Ellis. She has been there since 6th grade. She now says she wishes she'd been there since K-garten! When she came she was a bit behind those who had been there a long time, but the teachers were amazing and patient and she caught up soon. She is now exploring arts such as photography and ceramics, and has joined a sports team. She has learned to analyze and think for herself, and how to be a stronger writer. She is also gaining confidence in making presentations and talking with adults. I can see her growing in the all-girls environment, where popularity is determined by a girl's deeper character, not by how many boys pay attention to her. In the past there were times when Ellis was so focused on hard work that the girls seemed too stressed, but for the past two years the administration has been really focused on the "whole child" philosophy. They now make sure that there aren't too many projects due at the same time or too many tests the same week, and they encourage the girls to figure out how to balance academics with sports, volunteering, family life, and anything else they want to pursue. I highly recommend Ellis!


Ellis School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
I love Ellis! They teach and encourage empowerment to the girls and I have witnessed first hand how it has shaped my daughter. My daughter has had the opportunity to participate in sports that I know she would not have tried if she were at any other school. The environment and supportiveness of the teachers and staff are second to none. I cannot fathom sending my daughters anywhere else.

Ellis School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
There are many things that distinguish Ellis: Caring teachers. The best student/faculty ratio in the city. A learning environment that combines cutting-edge developmental knowledge about how girls learn best with exceptionally strong, hands-on interdisciplinary curriculum. Stanford University has rated Ellis among the top schools in the U.S, for its innovative approach to design thinking in education. The new Active Classroom for Girls (the product of a recent E.E.Ford grant) and other initiatives are strengthening Ellis's standing as a leader in STEM education for girls. Beyond the terrific academic experience, Ellis instills great core values -- personal integrity, kindness, work ethic, responsibility, thoughtfulness -- that build self-confidence and an intrepid sense of creativity in students. Graduates are prepared, self-reliant and motivated to succeed, typically outperforming their Ellis GPAs in college. This is no one-size-fits-all education, but very customized and responsive to each student's talents, needs and aspirations. The sunny, upbeat girl-power atmosphere nurtures strong, healthy individuals and prepares its students well for success in the wider world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ellis School
6425 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA  15206
(412) 661-5992
Last modified Ellis School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Ellis School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top