Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
I was told Montessori education is for every child. Having been part of this school for a year, I must say, "Montessori Education is for EVERY child. But, Montessori Education is NOT for EVERY family." It takes some will power to modify our traditional methods and mind sets to give room to extend the Montessori education beyond classrooms and into their day-to-day life. Montessori education promotes independence, self-discipline; self-motivation; as well as social awareness, cooperation and internal peace/calmness. Our child was shy and intimidated easily. He has been in school for over a year. In the restaurant, he orders his own food. In the stores, he asks store clerks for item locations or shopping bags. He used to keep his idea all in his head, now, he has plans, sometimes, written plans and drawings of his plans, which allow him to discuss, to modify and to think through the reality of his idea. However, Montessori Education is NOT for every family, if the family does not make substantial effort to encourage, to promote and to allow the child to take what s/he learns from the classroom into their daily lives. I am grateful to be part of this school.

Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Nothing beats the Montessori method of learning! The teachers here are wonderful! They really get to know your child and are able to tailor the lessons to how your child learns best. No child ever feels left behind or far superior to their peers... it's a community of respect. Children really learn to be self motivated and respect others and their environment. The exposure the kids get to more than just the 3 R's, including science, geography, history, art, music, etc. from Pre-K to 6th grade makes them so much more well rounded. This school also has a great parent association that plans lots of fun social activities for the kids and raises money for field trips and classroom supplies, but it is only for K-6 - which unfortunately leaves Pre-K parents a little bit less engaged and results in many transferring to public for kindergarten. The only down side to this school is that the administration, while made up of very nice and dedicated people, is a little be stale and set in their ways. A changing of the guard would definitely breath new life into the school.


Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
Our child has attended the lower academy for over a year. It was a difficult transition from public school. Like several other reviewers, we did not thoroughly understand the Montessori principles that foster independence--such as mixed age classrooms where students help each other with projects, and teachers allowing children to struggle with projects instead of stepping in too soon. But now that we've seen our child's self esteem and confidence skyrocket, we understand, and are grateful that we found this exceptional school. Our child is learning at least 4 times more than in a Mt. Lebo elementary. Our only regret is that we didn't find this school sooner.

Mount Lebanon Montessori 2

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
We enrolled our child in the 2's class, but then decided to our preschool after having negative experiences in the 3's class. While many of the teachers there seem to genuinely care about the students, the teacher that our child had was not one of them. When we discussed our concerns with the administration, we were essentially pushed aside. When we discussed potentially unenrolling our child, rather than showing concern, the administration asked us to let them know as soon as possible, so that they could fill the slot that our child was giving up. I was very disappointed. This school is run like a business and not a warm environment where we would want our children to go.

Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
We have really enjoyed sending our son here (first year almost completed). He previously had a difficult time at age three of following instructions and sitting still and he has really gone through a huge transformation. You will not find another school that is introducing such amazing concepts and teaching things that kids in grade school are just learning. We are extremely impressed. The staff is top notch and the directors I'd follow anywhere.


Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a teacher
As a teacher of 30 years I feel Mt. Lebanon Montessori School offers a stellar education. The staffs dedication to the Montessori Method and enthusiasm toward the child is to be commended. It is a joy to work with such a diverse and enthusiastic team!

Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
My two children have gone through the school and now attend their local elementary program. They were both well prepared and are doing excellent in the Mt. Lebanon school district. I credit Mt. Lebanon Montessori for their self discipline, and high academic standards. I recommend this school to all families of young children.

Mount Lebanon Montessori 1

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
We found this school to cold and unwelcoming to parents. We removed our child from the 3-6 class after a number of incidents that occurred on the playground, which we felt were lacked supervision. When we brought this issue up to the administrative staff, they were defensive and refused to listen to our concerns. Ultimately, we enrolled our child in another pre-k program and had a much better experience....at a much lower cost, as well.


Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
I just submitted this. Would you please use my previous one. I was doing this to verify the email address. Thank you.

Mount Lebanon Montessori 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a teacher
This school is the largest school in the area, with 180 students and 25 staff members. All classrooms are fully staffed. The school's mission is to provide preschool and elementary education using the Montessori method. Please visit the school website for more information.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Lebanon Montessori
550 Sleepy Hollow Road, Pittsburgh, PA  15228
(412) 563-2858
Last modified Mount Lebanon Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mount Lebanon Montessori Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top