Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bartholomew School

Private | PK-8 | 168 students

We are best known for academics.

 
 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

My daughter was going to Forbes school in Penn Hills. We discovered she had a reading problem. After many meetings, and help from aids. We found that this school district was not the best fit for her. We enrolled her into St. Bartholomew school for her 2nd grade year. It was the best thing we could have done for her. The teachers are wonderful, hard working & caring. She went from getting poor scores in reading to being top of her class. St. Bartholomew is a wonderful school. Unlike Penn Hills classes are small. Your child will get the attention they need. They are just not another number in the classroom. $4900.00 is a drop in a bucket when it comes to my daughter education. It's worth every penny and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

EXCELLENT SCHOOL! High test scores...consistently above grade level by an average of 2 years! Caring teachers...many are alumni, which really says a lot for the school! Many extracurricular activities...sports, academic competitions, etc. It is a great place, hands down. Yes, you have to pay tuition and fundraiser fees, but this is a private school and I feel that this is "part of the package" so to speak. I encourage all parents to get involved in their child's education! Don't sit back and complain...be a part of the school! My children have blossomed here and I am so grateful to everyone at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Their hands are out constantly for more money,more money, more money. Extremely poor leadership at the top levels. Athletic and PE programs are non existing, heads are poor excuses .... The needs of the few out weigh the needs of the many at St Barts. Far and in between will you find a Christian amongst them, This is truly distrubing in a Catholic school. THE SCHOOL IS SHROUDED IN BIGOTRY!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

What a great school Bart's is! I have a girl, entering Kindergarten, who attended the school the past two years in the ALL DAY preschool program. Wow that's great! The teachers are excellent and caring toward the students. They not only individualize but really show an involvement in the students lives, academically, athletically, and on a personal level. The school's diverse curriculum produces a well rounded child and my girl loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

St. Bart's provides an excellent education focusing on the entire child centered around academics, leadership and morals. No where else will you find a school that has more dedicated teachers and staff. Everyone from the principal to the teachers are highly trained and go above and beyond the standard. Yes, the test scores are top-notch, but all the educators strive to work with each child to be successful. My daughter absolutely love it here! My husband and I are so blessed to have our daughter attend such a fabulous school. I only wish it went to 12th grade instead of 8th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

This is a great school for my boys. The teachers are constantly finding new ways to challenge the students academically and the consistently high test scores are proof of that. I am grateful to be able to send my sons to a school that values family, faith, and respectful behavior, as well as academic excellence. The kids and families both are able to form lasting close friendships in their years at St Barts. This school is giving my children an academic, social, and religious foundation that they will carry with them always and as a parent I will do what I can to support this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

This school has gone down hill and unfortunately will meet the same fate as other catholic schools in pgh that have closed. They do focus too much on fundraising and that is distractive to the children. My son was so focused on winning a prize that he could not concentrate on anything else. I have never witnessed any strong leadership, just the same routine everyone has grown accustomed to and thus moved on to another school that better met my needs. I had two children in the school for the past six years and the quality of the education and staff has declined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

St. Bartholomew School is a wonderful school with a family atmosphere. From the principal, to the top-notch teachers, this is where you want to send your child! My son loves it there, and as a parent, I couldn't be happier! It has been so nice to see the school grow...they are obviously doing things right! The test scores are very impressive, too! This is a great investment in your child's future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Good to great school. There are some small issues with fund raising fees but that is being corrected. The teachers are strong and have fresh perspectives from pre-school with Miss Craver through eighth grade with Mrs. Smith. Strong leadership at the top with Sr. Dorothy and Linda Pricer. Things are coming together nicely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

The staff has great intentions but the school is poorly managed. There are better private schools in the area that are better managed and retain more students longer as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

This school nickels and dimes you to death!!! They always have events in which parents need to send in a 'donation' and if you don't, watch out!!! You are blacklisted. They are really good at getting you to feel guilty too. They hold a lot of events that all children want to participate in and god forbid if you dont send in a donation, your kid will be sitting in a corner while the ones who donated party. I removed my child once I became aware of the money games these people play. If I pay my tuition on time and in full, why are you begging me for more money??? Too focused on raising funds and not enough on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

St. Bart's is compelling. In general, the test scores place kids above national averages for reading and math. Football, basketball, soccer are great extracurricular activities. Diverse student body. Financial aid available for students to help. Now with an all-day pre-school option for 3 and 4 year olds, this creates a full-service school for the community. New leadership under a strong principal, Mrs. Pricer, creates a good direction. Great option for local public schools given the documented discipline and learning issues at those schools. St. Bart's is a key part of the Penn Hills Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

We have a daughter entering 5th grade and a son entering 4th as well as a future pre-schooler and we love this school. The curriculum is very competitive and the class size allows the kids to get personal attention. Each one of my children has a different learning style and both are doing very well. Most of all, the teachers respect and truly care about their students and the kids repect their teachers. It is a wonderful atmosphere for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

We have a daughter who currently attends, and two young boys who will attend when they are old enough... We LOVE St. Bart's. Can't say enough nice things about the thoughtful and caring staff, the academic excellence, and the feeling of family and close community with the other students and their families. Their website is: www.stbartsschool.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I am the parent of a 4th grader and a pre-k student and I have been more than happy with the education that my children have received at St. Bartholomew. The school has great teachers and staff. A wonderful athletic program and it's a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 71%
Black 39% 15%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Linda Pricer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Central Catholic
Oakland Catholic
Penn Hills
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Erhardt Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15235
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 242-2511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Penn Hebron El Academy
Pittsburgh, PA


Forbes El School
Verona, PA


Linton Middle School
Pittsburgh, PA


Turner El School
Wilkinsburg, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT