Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Pittsburgh, PA
Students enrolled: 1,037

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a community member
I love my school it's a great learning environment With a strong bit not harsh rules. Very good Teachers I love mine and I would never go anywhere else

Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
I was very nervous when my daughter was about to enter DMS. It has been great, she LOVES it. She is learning a lot. The academics are strong. Dedicated teachers. The majority seem to enjoy the students and teaching. The general atmosphere is a great balance of structure and freedom. The principal supports the teachers and welcomes dialogue with parents. Many extracurriculars available in both the arts and athletics. overall, GREAT school!


Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Dorseyville Middle School 4

Posted April 03, 2009
- a student
I really like this school. I started in the middle of the year but I got used to everything and made friends very quickly. The teachers are great for the most part but I really do not think they push the kids hard enough. There is alot of pressure on you, compared to my old school. They offer many clubs, and after school activities. Such as sports, art, writing, etc. One thing that really got on my nerves was that the fact that they still had not updated my name onto my rotating classes. They did not do it for the whole year, so I had to always go to the office, and was a waste of time. Other than that the school is excellent and I really enjoyed my time there.

Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2007
- a student
we have a great education here and I am happy that I am going to this school. most of the teachers are great and the students are ok to. I am so glad to go to this school!

Dorseyville Middle School 4

Posted March 22, 2007
- a parent
This school is a fine school but there has been things like teachers.The teachers in this school are mostly greate,but then you get that teacher that really shouldnt be going to the school to teach maybe hight school.The pricibals have thretend my son and is very rude.Mr.harris a pricibal there is not responsible. has rude behavior and does not respect some students.Have greate physical edu teachers.athletic teams are unbelievable. soccor team went to state champs and won.Its amazing they teach good there.My son likes and I like it thank you.

Dorseyville Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2005
- a staff
This review submitted without content.


Dorseyville Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
Most of the teachers are quite good at this school, though of course you will get the occasional not so good teacher since there are about 100 teachers there. The class sizes range from about 18 to 28. The disipline is rather strict which can be helpful but it also can limit the students very much. They also enforce teaching about bulling very strongly. My child says that some of it may be helpful (explaining what you should do if you are bullied or see bullying), but she says that the information about how to prevent bullying is not very helpful. I have had two children there who overall enjoyed the expirence but found it not to be as relaxed and enjoyable as the FASD High School. Their math is very good. Their arts are very good. Their foreign language teaching is quite good. The L.A. is good but not very creative. Their S.S. is good also. Their teaching methods for science are not that great. Their reading program is not wonderful at all but acceptable.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dorseyville Middle School
550 Saxonburg Rd, Pittsburgh, PA  15238
(412) 967-2520
Last modified Dorseyville Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dorseyville Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top