Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Eugene Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Primos

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $132,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2009

St Eugene's is a very small Catholic grade school struggling in today's economy. Despite limited funds and a very tight budget, they provide top notch education in addition to teaching important Christian values. St Eugene's staff works tirelessly to make sure each and every student is taught problem solving and social skills that they will need to solve real world issues in the future. St Eugene's students' tuition is partially funded through the support of the parish and it is this sense of community investment in the future of the children that makes St Eugene's so special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My grandson goes there and is doing very well and really likes the school and his teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

St. Eugene's school and church will always be home to us. My son, my husband and I were all fortunate enough to attend. We made a tough decision to move 2 years ago and leaving St Eugene's parish is one of our biggest regrets. It is a wonderful school and community. We miss it so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

For such a small school, they have state of the art technology. The Catholic ideals are present always, but they're preparing the kids for the future. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

There is a committment by the Pastor, Administrators, Teachers, Parents and children to create a positive learning experience for the children who attend St. Eugene's School. You can feel it when you come on to the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Awesome School spirit and great neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love the small close knit community. Everyone looks out for each other. It's a friendly atmosphere. A good place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

St. Eugenes is the best school because they have heart and spirit!


Posted September 18, 2009

Saint Eugene is a small community school where everyone knows everybody, it feels like family. All of my children attended St. Eguenes K-8 and even though we have moved out of the area it remains our parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love St. Eugene School because I feel the pastor,principal and faculty are dedicated to the mission of teaching in a Catholic setting to offer all students educational advantages at every level. For thirteen years I helped to form the faith life of the children. St. Eugene's has a very positive influence of children, families and the larger community. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Small school with a community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

St. Eugene's is a small school with a great faculty and awesome students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I think my children received a good education at St. Eugene's. It's a friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the small school atmosphere, it's like one big happy family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I went to St. Eugene's from K to 8th grade. It was always such a freindly environment. My mom, aunt, and sister all went to St. Euegene's as well and they all as near and dear to their hearts as much as me. Coming out of this elementary school I have made life long friends that will be with me untill the end.


Posted September 16, 2009

St Eugene;s is such a great school. The teachers and staff are wonderful and everyone is so close and friendly. My son is getting the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Eugene is a wonderful close knit community. The teachers are excellent, the school families are supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

St. Eugene is a great school. I love the fact that it is a small school. The teachers and the principal are great. We started here in the sixth grade and he graduated in 2005. His sister came here in kindergarten and now she is in the first grade. I only wish that my son had the opportunity to start here from the beginning. We are from another parish, but we changed to this parish, because it has that same feeling I had when I was a little girl in Catholic school. I highly recommend this school to everyone. Selina Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

Most of the students attending are from other districts because the elementary school for this district is a good one. That alone is a sign of the dedication of parents who choose St. Eugene for their children. I love that it is a small school (1 class per grade) becasue everyone knows each other. The teachers are mixed with new and older teachers. The technology resources, both separate from the regular classroom and those incorporated into regular lessons are excellent. Many of the extra activities are not available to students until they are in the 3rd grade, including the choir which excells beautifully at the hands of one of the students' parents (a very dedicated member of the church).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 74%
Black 19% 16%
Asian 4% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 S Oak Ave
Primos, PA 19018
Phone: (610) 622-2909

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Cross School
Springfield, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT