Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Interboro Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

My entire family has graduated from Interboro and now my children attend. SCHOOL IS WHAT YOU PUT INTO IT! I'm pretty sure every school is required to teach children the same curriculam. My son graduated last year and I never felt like the school was unsafe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

I graduated 2010 the teachers and staff on the whole are top notch. The one thing that really hinders the school is remarkable apathy from the majority of the student body. If you're motivated and willing to learn, Interboro will facilitate that to the utmost extent. If you're not, may as well not go. As far as the parents looking for opportunities for their kids, they'll find that at Interboro, but if they're not willing to make the effort, it's 100% the students fault, as the faculty and staff bend over backwards to help anyone who asks.


Posted July 9, 2013

.I am trying to find out if this is a good high school to send my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I really hope this school is taking what people say to heart. God Knows we pay enough taxes. This is where my son will be attending freshman yr. Lets hope all of this isnt true and if it is you should be working on changing it. Dont become another statistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

It's a shame to hear some of the news of what has become of Interboro. I graduated in '88 and back then Interboro was a top flight school academically and athletically. It sounds like things have changed. Teachers and staff were always most helpful to prepare you for college. I am an educator myself and I feel Interboro helped me prepare for my future. Go BUCS!! -Submitted by former student


Posted November 13, 2007

I am a current student at Interboro and personally, I'm afraid of what my future will look like. Interboro is, indeed, fine for the average person with average dreams. However, for the few who aspire to make it big in life, Interboro is definitely not the school to go to. Although nothing drastic has happened, Interboro is frequented with bomb threats and other various scares. Students at Interboro have the option to choose which level class they wish to take. I had chosen to take AP for European History this year and so had a great deal of other freshmen. However, not even halfway through the first month, half the class was already ready to drop and go for a class of lower difficulty. No, the class wasn't hard, at all. Kids at Interboro tend to be lazy because they get so little work compared to kids in other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2007

As a former student I believe that Interboro was a great school. There were many things offered there for extracurricular activities and many people to meet. Also, the staff there was very helpful in any thing that I needed. The bottom line is that Interboro was a great school for me to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2006

Home of the ' BUCS '..... we are very proud of our school and our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

I've had 3 daughters go through this district. I am very unhappy with level of support offered to the students, not only in some of the academic areas. There also seems to be a lack of communication among the staff, as well as a lack of accountability. Problems often don't seem to be resolved, instead they get 'swept under the rug.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

I am a 2000 graduate of Interboro HS. The school has made strides to improve its 'drug' image, but I thought the school was below-average at best. While multiple AP classes are offered, the teachers, for the most part, are not qualified to teach them. The college guidance counselors are fine for your 'average' student headed to Penn State Delco, Widener, West Chester, or Millersville. If your child has aspirations to attend an Ivy League school (or similar school), he/she/you will do most of the leg work. Interboro tends to send very, very few students to top schools. Much of the school is filled with underachievers that are very much into drugs and sports. Not to sound disenfranchised, but it is the truth.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2003

this school is not a good environment for our children.. they can't keep the kids under control..
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

286 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

290 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female32%
Male47%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female61%
Male55%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students23%
Female17%
Male30%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male74%
Black69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 71%
Black 5% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16th and Amosland Rd
Prospect Park, PA 19076
Phone: (610) 237-6410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Academy Park High School
Sharon Hill, PA


Springfield High School
Springfield, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT