Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Saegertown, PA
Students enrolled: 629
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 1

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
I have a child at Saegertown high. This school is very "cliquey". Any child that is differant or isn't in sports gets bullied. The teachers and office staff let rules bend depending on gender or if you are helping thier sports program. The education is very lacking,my child took a mandatory communications class for two years and all my child did was reports. Where's the communication training in that? My child learned nothing when is comes to speaking properly in interviews or in life situations. I would not recommend this school or any school in penncrest school district!

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 4

Posted August 24, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student of this school. People put comments that the school is "cliquey." I think every school is like this, and it depends on your perception of it and what kind of person you are. You can stay right in the middle of the road like I did and be perfectly happy not letting "cliques" or certain last names affect your life. The teachers are great, I would say 80% or 85% of them have a real passion for educating kids and love their job, and people should have no fear of moving to this area. I moved to another location in Pennsylvania and Saegertown is leaps and bounds above other public schools in PA, and I can only hope my child(ren) can receive a decent education and experience like I did.


Saegertown Junior-Senior High School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
Saegertown is a fantastic school academically, especially for the size of the community. But the other reviews are accurate, these people are snobs and take snobbery to an obsessive, almost surreal level. As a teenager it took me watching the movie 'Jawbreaker' to understand the cinematic-grade fantasy these people elevate themselves into. If you value your children's social skills, do not let them near this school.

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 2

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
As a former student, I believe it is important to note that there is a big difference between achieving satisfactory PSSA scores and preparing students for future success. While the English department is extraordinary, the math and science departments are unable to competently prepare their students for any technical curricula

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
Diversity and civility should be a top focus for this school to acheive more than fantastic test scores. There are some fabulous and caring educators and adminstrators in this school, but the tendency for cliques is a product of a small community with old and deep roots. A difficult achievement, but not impossible to help students adjust socially and emotionally to a small town school atmosphere.


Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 3

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
I have to agree with the October 20th post. One thing that I've noticed in Saegertown is it is very cliquey. There are some old families established in the community and it is difficult for outsiders to fit in. It is a strange little town with very little to do and offers very little middle ground. You either are or you aren't. Sadly, this is carried to the schools where there are many wonderful teachers, but students flounder socially. Diversity and civility should be a top focus for this school to acheive more than fantastic test scores.

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a teacher
As a faculty member of this school with knowledge of several local schools I can honestly saying SHS students and teachers should be proud of the job they are doing. All schools have problems but SHS goes to great lengths to continue to improve in all aspects of education. To the former student who is upset with the petty behind the scenes behavior of other students, I believe it is time for you to grow up as well. Please rate a school on their educational performance not your social experience.

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted August 22, 2005
- a student
Saegertown has fantastic PSSA scores and the teachers are well educated.


Saegertown Junior-Senior High School 1

Posted October 20, 2004
- a student
Saegertown High School students are very narrow minded and need to realize there is a bigger world out there than just Saegertown. Maybe the people at Saegertown should attempt to teach their kids to have a broader out look on life. Someday the students at SHS will be faced with real problems and it will not concern what someone else is wearing or if they are 'popular' or not.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saegertown Junior-Senior High School
18079 Mook Rd, Saegertown, PA  16433
(814) 763-2615
Last modified Saegertown Junior-Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saegertown Junior-Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top