Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Morris #27

Public | PK-5 | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

An amazing school with caring teachers and friendly staff. I couldn't be happier that all four of my children will attend here. Great little city school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My son just finished kindergarten last year and his teacher Mrs. Smith was excellent. She's a great asset to the school. As for the the rest of the faculty and staff they seem alright although I wasn't very active within the school last year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2013

If I could rate it a zero, I would. No new technology, no leadership and our PSSA scores are awful. I'm looking for a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

This school is so far behind the mark compared to the schools I just moved from in Western PA. The staff was unconcerned that my children would be almost a year ahead and instead told me to be happy that they won't have to work too hard this year. What a joke. WE will be looking into private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

After reading the reviews of this school, one would think that this school was a sewer. Let me submit some evidence contrary to the other reviews. Me and my siblings are graduates of Robert Morris. All 3 of us have college degrees, can speak at least 2 languages and are successful in the world. Most of my friends that I went to Robert Morris with are equally succeeding. Problem: the parents. Expecting a school to do everything for your child is wrong. It is the parent that instills discipline, love of learning, reading habits, etc. Hoping some big gov't entity will do that is short sighted and evidences poor parenting skills. And to the reviewers trying to discredit the school: based on your lack of formal grammar and reasoning, no one will take your reviews seriously. If you cannot construct a grammatically correct sentence, what gives you the right to debase an institution of learning? Granted, Robert Morris isn't some rich boarding school in the UK, it is a better option than some other Scranton elementary schools. It is the parents that make students succeed. Learning starts at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

My family has attended Robert Morris Elementary since my uncle went there in 1948. Since then, my mother, two sisters, myself, my six nieces and nephews graduated from Robert Morris and now my son is there in 2nd Grade. I don't think we should leave it up to the schools to teach our children manners and discipline, that is something that should be learned from us - the parents. I miss the days when the teacher was in charge. Now, teachers have to be so careful because people are sue happy and defend their children to the end of the earth. That is why so many children grow up to be on welfare. They aren't taught by their parents to fend for themselves. Stop blaming the schools, look in the mirror.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

scranton school district still labtls learning disabled children as special education..in turn.. children will be called..sped...a stigma that stays with the child. This district is 'behind the times' in education. They push children through school grades and encourage them to grow as non educated individuals whom when they are adults will financially collect welfare or ssi benefits..In turn..a drain on tax payers. Politicians and school district officials are more concerned in aspect of pocketing monies, and not investing in the children.shame on scranton school administration.Other states believe that ' children are our future' and invest in their education that is applicable for their intellect. in this district a parent has to apply for a tss worker that is seperate from school districts budget,resulting in time which delays cognitive learning process.check the national ratings of scranton schools..my god.sub standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

Unfortunately you will not find a public school in the Scranton School District who treats any student as an individual. Good luck trying to do what is best for your own child if you feel they need to be retained. They will go out of their way to pass your child through to the next grade even if your child is reading a grade level behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I love this school for my son. He has learned alot for his first year of school. He was in pre-k and had the best teacher!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

One of the worst public schools ever! Scranton School district lacks technology and the appeal for families who want their children to succeed in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

I am a Mother of three, originally from Jessup-about 8miles from the City of Scranton. I absolutely cannot stand living in Scranton, and could not wait to move back to the upper-valley area. If it were'nt for the incredible school my son attends, I'd have been long gone. Robert Morris is an excellent school for many reasons. The faculty is incredible, from the Principal Mr. Bieri-to the wonderful teachers like Ms. Pelosi who recently retired, and Ms. McCormick - my son's 1st grade teacher. They all put so much effort into our children's learning experience. They really are truly amazing people, and are excellent at their jobs! I admit-I was quite nervous about my child[ren] going to Public school here in Scranton, but now my mind is much more at ease because I know they will learn what they need to-and feel safe at the school like every child should. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

we just moved to the city of scranton..the faculty could not have been any nicer..and have made us feel completely at home..and as far as academics are far ahead of the poconos! from!a+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I think robert morris eleentary is the best school ever. I sent my kids to Neil Armstrong first for 1 year and they hated it so much.Then I sent them to Robert Morris and they loves it. There still in Robert Morris and the schools in great conditions. The teachers are very nice,they support my kids to the fullest. The activites are great and everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
19%

2009

 
 
36%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female73%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)83%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female63%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female90%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female65%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female81%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female58%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female67%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students35%
Female58%
Male14%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Black 7% 15%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1824 Blvd Ave
Scranton, PA 18509
Phone: (570) 348-3681

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT