Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Robert Morris #27 3

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
My son spent preschool through 5th grade at this school. They do their best and overall the staff does a decent job. They need to get better about scheduling. You wouldn't find out about days off until the last minute. It was hit and miss with the teachers. My son had a couple good ones, a great one, an unbelievably awful one and a few that were mediocre at best. He did learn a lot. One major issue is communication. In 6 grades and 9 teachers only 3 really were open to communication and I am one to use email and visits to help with the process. Many times I would reach out with minimal to no response.

Robert Morris #27 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
An amazing school with caring teachers and friendly staff. I couldn't be happier that all four of my children will attend here. Great little city school!


Robert Morris #27 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
My son just finished kindergarten last year and his teacher Mrs. Smith was excellent. She's a great asset to the school. As for the the rest of the faculty and staff they seem alright although I wasn't very active within the school last year.

Robert Morris #27 1

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
If I could rate it a zero, I would. No new technology, no leadership and our PSSA scores are awful. I'm looking for a private school.

Robert Morris #27 1

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
This school is so far behind the mark compared to the schools I just moved from in Western PA. The staff was unconcerned that my children would be almost a year ahead and instead told me to be happy that they won't have to work too hard this year. What a joke. WE will be looking into private schools.


Robert Morris #27 4

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
After reading the reviews of this school, one would think that this school was a sewer. Let me submit some evidence contrary to the other reviews. Me and my siblings are graduates of Robert Morris. All 3 of us have college degrees, can speak at least 2 languages and are successful in the world. Most of my friends that I went to Robert Morris with are equally succeeding. Problem: the parents. Expecting a school to do everything for your child is wrong. It is the parent that instills discipline, love of learning, reading habits, etc. Hoping some big gov't entity will do that is short sighted and evidences poor parenting skills. And to the reviewers trying to discredit the school: based on your lack of formal grammar and reasoning, no one will take your reviews seriously. If you cannot construct a grammatically correct sentence, what gives you the right to debase an institution of learning? Granted, Robert Morris isn't some rich boarding school in the UK, it is a better option than some other Scranton elementary schools. It is the parents that make students succeed. Learning starts at home!

Robert Morris #27 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
My family has attended Robert Morris Elementary since my uncle went there in 1948. Since then, my mother, two sisters, myself, my six nieces and nephews graduated from Robert Morris and now my son is there in 2nd Grade. I don't think we should leave it up to the schools to teach our children manners and discipline, that is something that should be learned from us - the parents. I miss the days when the teacher was in charge. Now, teachers have to be so careful because people are sue happy and defend their children to the end of the earth. That is why so many children grow up to be on welfare. They aren't taught by their parents to fend for themselves. Stop blaming the schools, look in the mirror.

Robert Morris #27 1

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
scranton school district still labtls learning disabled children as special education..in turn.. children will be called..sped...a stigma that stays with the child. This district is 'behind the times' in education. They push children through school grades and encourage them to grow as non educated individuals whom when they are adults will financially collect welfare or ssi benefits..In turn..a drain on tax payers. Politicians and school district officials are more concerned in aspect of pocketing monies, and not investing in the children.shame on scranton school administration.Other states believe that ' children are our future' and invest in their education that is applicable for their intellect. in this district a parent has to apply for a tss worker that is seperate from school districts budget,resulting in time which delays cognitive learning process.check the national ratings of scranton schools..my god.sub standard.


Robert Morris #27 2

Posted August 08, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately you will not find a public school in the Scranton School District who treats any student as an individual. Good luck trying to do what is best for your own child if you feel they need to be retained. They will go out of their way to pass your child through to the next grade even if your child is reading a grade level behind.

Robert Morris #27 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a parent
I love this school for my son. He has learned alot for his first year of school. He was in pre-k and had the best teacher!!!

Nearby schools

Robert Morris #27
1824 Blvd Ave, Scranton, PA  18509
(570) 348-3681
Last modified Robert Morris #27 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top