Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 1

Posted October 13, 2013
- a community member
St. Paul's is certainly an "absolute diamond". If you live in Greenridge, welcome to your safe haven. Otherwise, prepare for judgement and a torturous experience for your children during the critical development years of their lives. The teaching staff is comprised of a few competent teachers, but prepare for a majority of teachers to have qualified for the position solely because of a fortunate last name. The facilities may have been acceptable during the early 1900s, but renovations consisting of a few paint jobs will not allow you to believe that they are acceptable today. The school's principal is not interested in your child's education or emotional well-being, but she will be happy to accommodate you if you have political powers that may benefit her career. If you have money to waste on an education that is no better than any in the area (public or private), and you want your child to develop character by being placed into a hostile environment (assuming you live outside of Greenridge, of course), then send your child to St. Paul's School.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 1

Posted August 02, 2009
- a parent
This is one of the worst school, my children have ever been to. the staff is below satisfactory, save a few members. The uniforms are dreadfully expensive and my children cannot stand them. The children appear to hate the school and the school is in awful condition. I walked up one of the staircases and the railings felt so shaky I was scared to hold them.


St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 0
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
The Saint Clare/Saint Paul community is comprised of parents committed to a quality education for their children. Unfortunately, the administration, particularly the principal, is not willing to make her teachers accountable for the day to day activities in the classrooms. Consequently, I have heard my son tell me about the free tome and noneducational movies that are a large part of the day, particularly at the end of the year. I am also disgusted that the school calender allows for so many half days. Between the lost curriculum due to half days and the snow days that are not made up, I feel my tuition dollars are paying teachers that are not always teaching. The positive side is the students are wonderful and my sons' friends come from solid families that appreciate education. The administration and faculty should act on that and make a good school the best school in Pennsylvania.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 4

Posted January 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 5

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 0
no rating

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
If you notice, reviews have gone downhill since 2003. That is because there has been restructuring within the last 2 years. As can be expected the weak links (the principal, the academics, disorganization, lack of vision) have taken their toll on the school. There is unrest among the shaken-up faculty and staff that are bounced around, the parents that want better leadership and organization, and the students caught in the middle. The school is 50+ years old. Hopefully things will eventually straighten out under the right leadership. But until then, I do not want my children lost in the shuffle to figure out what the Scranton Diocese will do with the elementary system. It is a shame how quickly quality can be undone.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 3

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
Overall these two schools are socially wonderful. If you are looking for a sheltered religious environment then this is the place for you. Academically they are SERIOUSLY behind the times. Many familes in the upper grades need tutors in the acdemic subjects. When these same students transfer to High School they are behind many of the other kids. Again loving environment, but at what academic cost? Administration is difficult, and often misses the bigger picture of academic instruction. (Please note the principal of St.Clare's left in 2007,that the previous reviews mention).


St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 1

Posted February 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus 5

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
My sons love St Pauls and St Clares. They are like Family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus
2215 North Washington Ave, Scranton, PA  18509
(570) 343-2790
Last modified St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
St. Paul St. Clare School St. Clare Campus Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top