Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
145 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eden Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 16, 2015
- a student
Some of the worst teachers I have ever had in my life. My grades were greatly impacted because I didnt understand things and teachers are not very professional. Most of the time the teachers didnt even know anything about what they were teaching.

Eden Christian Academy 1

Posted December 16, 2015
- a student
One of the worst schools I have ever attended. The curriculum is alright but some of the teachers are horrible. My main problem is that there are barely any choices of classes you can take. In total there are only two AP classes and no honors classes so that can definitely hurt your acceptance into a college. Students are not very accepting of new children and there are a lot of cliques and drama. I didbt have this problem but I saw so many kids who did. Also it doesnt feel like a christian school. The only thibg that set it apart is the fact that you have bible class. Do yourself a favor and go to public school where your education will be much better and you will make a lot more friends. Eden didnt prepare me for college at all but Pine Richland did.


Eden Christian Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Eden Christian Academy is committed to the education of the whole man. They focus on spiritual, emotional and social growth as well as the academic growth. Even with the academics, there is a dedication to excellence. Well above "the curve" of public school education, the students are challenged to think critically and apply content in a practical way. So blessed by the staff and administration of Eden Christian Academy.

Eden Christian Academy 2

Posted July 05, 2015
- a student
You know it's bad when more time is spent on basketball than it is on spiritual growth. It's called Eden CHRISTIAN academy.not ballet academy

Eden Christian Academy 4

Posted December 21, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school from pre-school all the way up to 7th grade. I know the school backwards-forwards. I feel as if this school had such great potential, but the areas of improvement didn't shine. Most would say it's a great school, but then others would say their student didn't like it very much. I had so many great memories in that school, but I'm in a school now that I'm proud to be a part of. The berkeley hills campus was a great campus for me to start out with. I'm glad I didn't go to a public school, because I needed and environment of other Christians around me. Although some of the rules are too strict, that many want to rebel. In middle school things changed, when I went to mt. nebo. I absolutely hated going to school every day, I felt depressed. I still managed to have friends, but there was a lot of drama. I know drama is something you get everywhere, even in the real world. But the classes were also too difficult. I think Eden gave me a good advantage going to another school, but the academics are overrated. The teachers didn't know how to teach you COLLEGE level things! I was sent to the counselor's office constantly. They acted like I needed help. It's only for some


Eden Christian Academy 2

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
we said we'd give the Mount Nebo campus another try this year. We were disappointed with what's been encountered there but given assurances of changes. We have yet to see any improvement although it's still early. The teachers are sincere but the current leadership has got to work through issues. Combined our family has 10 years at Eden, so we have a comparison from campus to campus, year to year. Caveat Emptor

Eden Christian Academy 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a teacher
I could not be more pleased with the amazing Christian community provided by all three of Eden's campuses. As a parent of three Eden students, I have witnessed the tremendous love, support, and dedication provided by teachers, staff, and administration. As a staff member of multiple campuses, I am encouraged by the support, encouragement, and commitment of ALL of the administrative staff. I am grateful to work with professionals who truly seek God's will for the school, and I have personally grown in my professional/spiritual life as a result.

Eden Christian Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children have been taught by Eden teachers their entire elementary/middle/high school careers. I have had a child at each of the three campuses at one time or another. I would not trade an Eden education for anything! Well worth the money and I share none of the concerns expressed in the July 17 parent review.


Eden Christian Academy 1

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
If you are expelled (or about to be) from a public school - they will admit you. They advertise that your student will be "safe" on WORD FM. How is your student safe, if they are taking in expelled (or nearly expelled) students from local public schools? I'd like to think that they are doing this out of a Christian concern for the development of these children. I fear that it falls into a pattern of accepting wealthy students, no matter the cost to other students. Other concerns - they had a male teacher who was unsuccessful at the upper campus, so they transferred him to the Siebert lower campus, where he was also unsuccessful, so they transferred him to Wexford's lower campus. Why do you keep transferring an unsuccessful teacher around, when parents are paying this much for an education? Concerning relationship between headmaster and principals/teachers - teachers convey that they fear crossing the headmaster, examples given include that he terminated long time teacher because teacher disagreed on minor teaching point, teachers convey that principals walk on eggshells with him. School sounds great - but scratch beneath the surface and it's concerning.

Eden Christian Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2011
- a parent
I have two sons enrolled in this school. They are ages 14 and 17, so they will be going into 8th and 11th grade, respectively. I have been so impressed with this school's ability to teach and nurture my boys both academically and spiritually. The teachers are invested in each student personally, which allows for much greater personal growth. As a parent, that is the most important thing. Two thumbs up!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eden Christian Academy
318 Nicholson Road, Sewickley, PA  15143
(412) 741-2825
Last modified Eden Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Eden Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top