Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Park High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2005

I was a graduate of Academy Park High School and later went on to work there part time, so I have seen both sides of the desk. I have to agree with some of the reviews here. Since I have graduated (1990), the quality of education has gone down hill, but if defense of the staff, some of the children make it very difficult to want to put in 150%. I have had a desk thrown at me by a student and then threatened because I asked him to stop disturbing the class. He then went on to bring the teacher to tears with his behaviour. What are you to do in a situation like that? Talk to the parents? They had more threats to add to the sons...the problem starts at home and carries on in school. Start there and you will be amazed how much better A.P. will be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2004

As of the academic 2004-2005 school year I was a senior attending Academy Park HS. I was appalled with the lack of attention that the Advanced Placement students received from the faculty at Academy Park, most notably the principal. I was enrolled in the Advanced Placement English course and met great difficulties with the staff. Our teaching instructor retired mid-way through the year (made well known to students and faculty alike) however the problem was the whole week after her departure our AP course went without a teacher. Finally we requested a meeting with the principal to discuss the situation and so forth; the principal refused to answer our questions, was very rude, and deceived us. I, of course, was very displeased with the principal's inability to uphold standards within the high school; a negative atmosphere hovered over the High School. The teachers are very helpful and love their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

Academy Park High School is one of the high schools that is failing our children in the district of south east delco. the teachers have no time to help some of the children when they need it and if you are waiting for a call back well you better keep waiting. also the school has a program for alternative lifestyles. yes, they show your child if he or she is having a sexual identity problem you can go to a support group ran by the teachers and they will show you how to handle yourself when you talk to someone who is not living an Alternative lifestyle. I can not afford to take my children out of this school but I will let others know how they are. as a former student I'am ashamed to say that I or my children go to Academy Park (I went to sharon Hill high).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 15, 2004

I'm a junior at AP, and these reviews make me very upset. I am in all but one honors class and i am even in Advanced Placement history. I have gone to southeast delco schools my whole life, which means if a student actually works hard, and is willing to learn they will do great. Parents have to stop whining on here about bad teachers and a lack of education, and realize it is probably themselves, or their children who made their experience at Academy Park bad. Also, I am glad i go to AP, and not a school like Interboro, because i will turn out an overall better person by going to school with a mixed student population. Go AP!!! C/O 2006. --A.Z.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2004

My daughter attended 9th grade the school year of September 2004 to June 2004 and her experience as a student and mine as a caring parent was a nightmare. The academics are lacking and she was in advanced courses! Racism in reverse (black against white) is at an all time high in this school and my child being an African American student was jeered daily by other students because she chose not to fit in with the ruling (Black) status quo. The school superiors are quick to discipline a student for failing to adhere to the dress code but they allow the student mass to violate the state legislated laws against 'Bullying' within/outside their premises. I would not recommend this school for any parent to send their children to because the conditions are deplorable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

I am an Academy Park graduate of the Class of 01'. I am appalled to see what some people have written in and so I will tell you that they are wrong! I am an average learner but a hard worker and that is why I made the grades I did. I was never 'pushed' through a class, if I didn't understand something, I asked! All of my teachers were happy to help before, during or after class. I have never met teachers who cared more about their students! Perhaps the school's state test scores are so high but I can truly say I was 100% pepared for college, which I succeed in as well. I have a 3.51 and will be graduating in one years with my B.S. in Business. Here's a tip: Try working hard! Take some responcibilty parents, get involved that too makes a difference!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2004

I'm not a parent of this school but I actually am a freshman. Now I've heard many bad things about this school. I've heard that the teachers don't care and the students are extreme (in a bad way). But actually, I've only heard this from people who are on the outside looking in. I'm here everyday and let me say, I love this school! I'm not extra smart, I'm average but I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. At first I was afraid to go to this school but now I'm afraid I'll have to leave after senior year. So I hope you don't let what other people say about this school determine your decision to come here. It's a great school that's just infamous because of it's location.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2004

I was a student at this school, and graduated in 2000. It was one of the worst experiences of my life. Out of my four years there, I had five good teachers. Five! That's disgraceful. I guess what really sums it up about most of the teachers in this school, is that they simply don't care unless you're a 'gifted student'. That means that you are in programs such as Enrichment, for the smarter students, and can make the school look good by winning debates, which is completely ridiculous. When I went to college, I was in a lot of trouble the first semester, because I didn't learn the things I was supposed to in high school. Thanks a lot, AP.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 23, 2004

I took my son out of this school in his senior year. This school is the pits. Most of the kids there are failing but when they leave and go somewhere else they do great. My son will be graduation from another high school and I'm so glad that his diplomia will not say that he graduated from Academy Park High School. I only have one child but if I had it to do over again I would send my son somewhere else from the beginning. I feel so sorry for my neices and nephews that have to go there. My family can't afford to send their children to a private school like I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2004

I was a student at Academy Park and I have to say I didn't learn very much. I had a class called Problems of Democracy and in that class we did nothing but one page worksheets each day. I did have a few good teachers but about 90% of the teachers there do not care at all. I think they are too hard on the students and they pressure them too much. I graduated in 2000 and I felt as if the only reason I graduated was because they pushed me through.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2004

I've dealt with a few schools since I have 3 children. My youngest goes to Academy Park. I cringe everyday that she is there. The counselors and administrative staff have nothing but good things to say about the teachers but they each say almost the exact same thing like their reading from a script. While speaking so highly of the school and teachers, they're not listening to a word the students have to say or their needs. My child has only been there for about a year and a half yet in that time I feel like I've been beating my head against the wall. They've tried to schedule her for classes she has already had. The classes she is required to take and needs are always full. They try to put her in College Prep courses even though she needs applied courses (the reason she needed to be put in another class is because she failed the applied course). Yet, they tried to replace this course with a College Prep course. The College Prep classes are the only classes that always have room. What does that alone say to you? This school is only good for a child that is extremely intelligent or is able to learn on their own. All the others are just pushed along. It seems like more than half at this school are the others. I'm not saying all the teachers are not good. My child has come across a few good teachers. If you don't get one of the few, you can count on your child failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
12%

2009

 
 
9%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

201 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female40%
Male42%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students11%
Female7%
Male17%
Black5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female79%
Male56%
Black69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 15%
White 28% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Calcon Hook Rd
Sharon Hill, PA 19079
Phone: (610) 522-4330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Motivation High School
Philadelphia, PA




Burn Brae Academy
Folcroft, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT