Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Amazing...who loves middle school? My three kids! This is an amazing school, the best in town, more diversity in income than state college schools, project based, teacher led, engaging, community, wonderful feeling in this school. Great clubs and free after school and before school programs. Can't say enough wonderful things about the teachers. My kids love learning again.

Centre Learning Community Cs
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
I have been happy with all the teachers, because I have had three kids in their program, I've had almost all of the teachers, and because it's such a small school, the kids will get all the teachers at one time or another for one subject or another so I can say that they are all stellar. They care, and a caring teacher is the most important thing to middle school children.


Centre Learning Community Cs
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
While I see my friends' kids struggling with too much homework and having to curtail church activities, my kids are engaged and doing a good amount of homework. They are responsible for their projects, but they have time during the day to get their work done.

Centre Learning Community Cs
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Project based curriculum gets kids engaged and involved in their own learning, nothing better than that for grit and perseverance.

Centre Learning Community Cs
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Yes, there is mutual respect here. There is sufficient structure for the school to run well, and the school helps the students to learn respect by modeling it rather than demanding it.


Centre Learning Community Cs
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
The small nature of the school, and the after school program in particular are very good for developing strong caring relationships. Bullying simply isn't tolerated here.

Centre Learning Community Cs
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
This is a very small school, 100 kids in 4 classes with two certified teachers in every 25 child classroom...it's a small community and everyone knows what is going on with all the kids all the time...truly like a village raising the child.

Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
I am so lucky to have this school in my kids lives! My daughter did great in elementary school here in State College but she definitely was getting bored. She is never bored at the CLC. Always challenging herself. The teachers LOVE their jobs and guide the kids through projects that they are interested in. She has a great work ethic and there never seems to be any kid drama. There are lots of choices in State College and schools that allow flexibility but the CLC is amazing at project based learning. Teaching communication, confidence, real life science, engineering, thoughtfulness, analysis, and grit! It has been amazing really. They even have a great after school program with so many options, and my daughter rarely wants to come home right after school. My son can't wait to start in 5th grade.


Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Project and technology based, very safe environment, such a great teacher/student ratio. They really focus on teamwork & friendship. Great teachers, very easy to be involved and they do so many amazing things for such a small school

Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
My son started school at CLC this year and loves it.... he has learned so much. We have been very happy with the school. The teachers are excellent as well as very caring. They communicate well with parents. This school also has excellent specials and after school programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centre Learning Community Cs
2643 West College Ave, State College, PA  16801
(814) 861-7980
Last modified Centre Learning Community Cs is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centre Learning Community Cs Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top