Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
5-8
Public charter
State College, PA
Students enrolled: 94

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Project and technology based, very safe environment, such a great teacher/student ratio. They really focus on teamwork & friendship. Great teachers, very easy to be involved and they do so many amazing things for such a small school

Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
My son started school at CLC this year and loves it.... he has learned so much. We have been very happy with the school. The teachers are excellent as well as very caring. They communicate well with parents. This school also has excellent specials and after school programs.


Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a community member
I <3 CLC... The best school in the world... so much technology and involving research and discovery. It is so much better than other schools that I have been to it is very hands on, lot of building and so much fun... (CLC Class of 2011)

Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted April 01, 2010
- a student
I went here for three years of my life until I graduated, and I feel that it helped me to grow as a person not only in school but out. The afterschool program helps kids learn what they're interested in and what they're good at. Middle school is a harsh period of a kid's life, and this school has a supportive group of teachers who will, I feel, work twice as hard as most teachers to help you discover yourself. The small classes not only help with one-on-one time with teachers, but it also helps the more shy students make friends easier and feel more comfortable, which later helps them overcome their shyness. Trust me, I know.

Centre Learning Community Cs 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a teacher
CLC is awesome because it accepts every child right where they are - and then challenges them to take the next step. Along the way, the kids are given the supports they need and the motivation necessary to complete their projects. The end results astound me. Watching the kids' increased confidence as they tackle projects they didn't think they could possibly accomplish is the best reward.


Centre Learning Community Cs 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a teacher
CLC is a project-based, technology-enhanced middle school charter school. At CLC, the students learn by completing hands-on, real-world projects. The students have the opportunity to complete the projects in a way that best suits their learning styles. The set-up of the school allows for a great deal of individualized instruction. Students often feel very empowered and take charge of their learning!

Centre Learning Community Cs 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a teacher
The Centre Learning Community (CLC) has a system where individual students can't fall through the 'cracks'. Each Child is observed on all levels for a balanced approach to problem solving. Each child has his or her own laptop, bringing the student into the electronic information age more seemlessly. The teaching staff is caring and dedicated to every child.

Centre Learning Community Cs 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
This is the BEST school for my child. He loves it, the teachers and staff not only know all the kids in the school, but they CARE about each and every student. I am so glad we found CLC!


Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
CLC is a small, technology and project based school serving children in grades 5-8 from several districts in Central Pa. Each teacher at CLC is dedicated to making middle school a positive experience for every student who walks in our doors, academically, socially, and emotionally. Each student is respected for his or her unique skills and perspective, while being encouraged to become a better student and a better person; constantly learning, growing, and jumping at new opportunities.

Centre Learning Community Cs 5

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
I just want to ego the previous posts and say that the school is still a fantastic place. My son has been given the opportunity to advance in several subjects and he is supported on every level. The staff is wonderful and they truly believe in the kids and help them reach their potential. My son has also found that having a laptop to use for the year has increased his productivity and organization! He LOVES it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centre Learning Community Cs
2643 West College Ave, State College, PA  16801
(814) 861-7980
Last modified Centre Learning Community Cs is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centre Learning Community Cs Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top