Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
My husband and I had a lovely time at Grandparents' Day with Ms Bennet's class and enjoyed the Halloween parade. The events were well organized, the staff friendly and welcoming, and the children seemed at ease in a comfortable environment. It is a 12 hr trip to our home in Maine and we were not disappointed. Great job!

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful! The class sizes are small so the teachers have more one on one time with the kids! My child comes home happy every day, she loves school!


Young Scholars of Central PA CS
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
It's either too much or too little. There were days when my child spent up to five hours on homework.

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 1

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Awful school especially once your child hits fifth grade. The teachers are largely inexperienced and police the kids more than they teach. The classroom environment is disruptive leaving those wanting to learn frustrated and helpless. Administration does not care to listen to parents and address concerns. To further add to this, some teachers lack fluency in English.

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a community member
This school is wonderful.The staff,principal and the teachers are all very good and cooperative.I love their diversity and languages program. I have been fortunate to send my son to this school he loves it and I would send my little one here too.


Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
Young Scholars of Central PA continues to impress us. Listening to our son share with our family what he loves about school brings a smile to my face.

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children go to Young Scholars of Central PA Charter School. We could not be happier there! I am a very involved parent and communicate often with the teachers. Contrary to some posts, I know that all of the teachers that my children have had are certified elementary teachers with some even having a masters degree. All of the teachers that we have had experiences with are very caring and have my children's best interests at heart. The staff is all very friendly and I love that the principal knows all of the students by name. I would highly recommend YSCP to any family that is looking around at schools.

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
Between two states, and 3 other school districts, Young Scholars has been the best fit for my son. He has never been this motivated to learn to read. Speak Chinese, as well as English. And genuinely happy to go to school in the morning. I have not met a teacher, or administrator, that is not willing to go above and beyond to help him, excite him, and motivate him.


Young Scholars of Central PA CS 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a teacher
YSCP aims to treat everyone, whether student, staff, or parent, like a family. I was welcomed into this family from day one, and I can tell you that I have never worked with such a caring, friendly, knowledgable staff before. Every teacher bends over backwards for the students at YSCP. The staff is not only highly experienced, but many teachers have multiple certifications and degrees. I am proud to call this school home.

Young Scholars of Central PA CS 1

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Inexperienced teachers combined with weak, ineffectual administration. We might as well be home-schooling our children with the amount of time we spend tutoring on material that was not taught effectively in the classroom. Too much "independent learning" (placing the burden on parents to teach the children) and too much classtime spent in front of Disney videos.

Nearby schools

Young Scholars of Central PA CS
1530 Westerly Parkway, State College, PA  16801
(814) 237-9727
Last modified Young Scholars of Central PA CS is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top