Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Steelton-Highspire High School

Public | 7-12 | 544 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2011

I went to Steelton for about 5 years and I have to say it's wether your commited to learning or not. Yes there's drama but that comes along through every school...You won't have any problems with people as long as you don't judge. I love it!! &I would definitley recommend this school {despite all the false info everyone is told}.


Posted October 27, 2009

Steelton is average let me tell you the math teachers are great


Posted June 5, 2007

I think Steel High is an okay school. My child is getting good grades at that school and their test scores are rapidly improving. Their discipline is also getting better. When I looked at her test scores she was scoring in proficent or advanced. I do recommend sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

My brother attends this school. The first problem is the school district doesn't want to change with the times. The teachers do not reflect the student body. The school is majority black, how about some positive role models of black teachers. Also, the teachers are old and are not willing to try new teaching methods. I really think that teachers should have to retire at a certain time in order to keep our kids competitive. The books are ridiculous and because they don't allow the teachers to unionize, they don't get the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

I am a student from Steelton-Highspire High School and oppose many of the people that say that Steel High is a bad school. The same people that are telling people to keep their kids away only think they know what's going between those walls. Everyday in the newspaper, you always hear about bad things. Sometimes it's true but most of the time the so called 'facts' are so fiction. Steel- High has taught me alot of things, and whoever told you guys we only care about sports is wrong. The real reason we are so into sports is because they want to keep kids off the streets and in the school. So before you go and make rumors Read the Facts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2006

My recommendation is not to send your children to this school ... it has very poor acedemics and they have a lot of problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

I would reccommend that you do not send your child to this school district unless your only reason is the sports program. The academic standards are pathetic. I have been asked to stop reading with my child since he is too far ahead of the other kids. If your child gets hurt it is always your fault or your child's , never the responsibility of teachers, or another students, if that student is an athlete.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

As a taxpayer, I am very concerned about our local public school system. Spending more money on a state of the art building is not going to improve the educational process. Not only are our students poorly motivated, it appears that many of the teachers are also merely putting in their time. While parental involvement is often cited as a true need for a successful union, in reality such involvement is actually discouraged. Despite what the administration may think, there are many college educated people within our community. We do have great ideas, but many of us are ignored. Yes, one of my children went to your high school while the other went to a private school. Sports programs are highly successful. However, there is inadequate availability in the music and arts department. Remember the wonderful spring musicals? Let us stop making excuses for our kids. Their job is school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

To add to my original comments I have another child who is currently in the 8th grade which has an IEP that I have had to initiate completely in the last 2 years. He has been labeled as 'bad kid' due to his problems with ADHD. You have teachers who can't beging to relate to these type of children. Before the school board and district thinks about building another school and wasting taxpayers money why don't they think of taking care of the academics. Look at the schools profile and test scores. 'Would you be satisfied with 50% to 60% overall scores? That's average, is that what our kids deserve? I have personally seen kids leave our district and go to others and fail. More parents need to speak up and be heard at school board meetings. Who is going to fight for our kids if we don't? Noone else cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

The administration doesn't care about the children it is all about their little click. How much they can get for themselves. The children are just an after thought. The school board is a joke. The school board wants to build a new school for 16 million dollars, when it all said and done, it will cost 26 million. Steelton is a dying community, people are moving out in droves. How will the average taxpayer be able to afford a new school. Have they asked the public if they want a school? No! It is what the school board decided. There haven't been any public meetings asking the taxpayer what they want. The adminstrator will not help pay for this school. He doesn't live in Steelton. Before we think about a school we need to trim the fat from the adminstration.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2004

I, along with my wife and two children, am a graduate of this school. I have seen the quality of education continually falter over the years. Yes, a lot of it has to do with the parents non involvement, but the lack of quality teachers also has hurt this school. There is more to just trying to, I repeat, trying to educate these students. There has to be more of a hands on approach. You don't just tell them things and not make it interesting. You have to do more. No teacher wants to take a little extra time after school to help students. It's always said to come earlier in the morning. They can't keep carrying athletes just to be successful, also. No one cares, now that Mr. Addy has left.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
19%

2009

 
 
3%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
4%

2009

 
 
8%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female41%
Male54%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female53%
Male44%
Black52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female51%
Male31%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female69%
Male47%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students21%
Female22%
Male21%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female48%
Male23%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
Female20%
Male12%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic23%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female12%
Male48%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic23%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic0%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female50%
Male29%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic55%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 15%
Hispanic 21% 9%
White 21% 71%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Swatara St and Reynders Ave
Steelton, PA 17113
Phone: (717) 704-3809

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Circle School
Harrisburg, PA



Melrose School
Harrisburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT