Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marian Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 311 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tamaqua

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $107,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $563.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2013

If you live in the Hazleton Area and you are looking for a GREAT SCHOOL, you have to look at Marian Catholic High School. I live in a different state, but my brother's children were Marian students. I was able to compare my children's school academics and activities to theirs. I would highly recommend Marian to any family who has bright children who enjoy being challenged academically. There any many activities for the students who like getting involved, more than my children's school. With the sad state of the public schools in the Hazleton Area, I think Marian is the best choice. It is unfortunate that the priests in the Catholic Chuches in Hazleton do very little to promote this great school.


Posted October 7, 2012

The person who graduated in 1976 should not be submitting his experience, and therefore, rating, over 30 years later. Administration and faculty have changed. It's sad to hear his story; hopefully, faculty have been become more attentive to individual needs since then. Having said that, Catholic schools historically seem to do very well with the broad middle group of kids, but not so well on the upper and lower ends. The apparently no flexibility academic tracking system is evidence of that. Because a kid may be sharp in, say, math, does not mean he or she is sharp in physics or foreign language, yet he or she seems to be forced into the entire track. Additionally, a little grade inflation would certainly help those seeking admission to the highly selective colleges and universities. Marian's brightest kids are competing with the brightest kids from larger schools nationally who don't mind a bit of grade-boosting because most of the admission decisions are made by the numbers. Would be nice to see more of our kids admitted to the Ivies and sub-Ivies (Swarthmore, Bryn Mawr, Williams, etc) as well as places such as University of Chicago, Stanford, Vanderbilt, Duke.


Posted August 5, 2012

As a graduate myself, and mother of three graduates, I cannot speak more highly of the experiences we have had at Marian.. It is truely a family atmosphere based VALUES and MORALS. Outstanding academics are forefront and have been the foundation of my childrens' successfull careers. Marian is a special place flying way under the radar
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I spent four years at Marian, and graduated in 1976. My class standing was roughly in the middle (Out of 149 graduates). I can honestly say that spending four years at Marian did little to prepare me for the outside world. Individual attention was nonexistent, and I was on my own as an Algebra One Student, for example. I had difficulty in this class, and nobody took notice. I was too shy to ask for help, and wound up spending the Summer doing the remaining lessons in the course, as I was that far behind. I passed by the skin of my teeth. If anybody out there thinks that catholic school is better than public school, let me just say that a Catholic School education is VASTLY OVERRATED. Furthermore, unless you fight back, you are an easy mark for bullies and aholes. I found that out the hard way at Marian. Had I fought back, I probably would have been expelled, and in retrospect if would have been worth it. Believe me, it was no fun being subjected to humiliating and degrading treatment at the hands of a few classmates, and a few upperclassmen. The faculty basically didnt care.


Posted December 17, 2011

Marian provides the same basic education that they have for decades. Many students will find that Marian is unable to meet their needs as an individual. Tracking students are placed in an academic track prior to 9th grade. Students will either be enrolled in all honors classes or all regular classes for all 4 years regardless of performance. Math Even as an A+ math student, I was woefully underprepared for my first math class in college. Arts Studio Art/Theater classes are non-existent at Marian. There is culture of favoritism that exists throughout the Marian community. One-dimensional population: lower-middle class, white, catholic. Sheltered environment is a safe place. Students can attend without challenging any of their own beliefs. College Admissions college advising is not a service that Marian can honestly say they offer. There is no grade inflation at Marian which hurts them in obtaining scholarships. If admission to a selective college is important and your child is placed in track 2 leave - the most rigorous courses are not available to your child and their grades will be greatly devalued in the class rank.


Posted April 18, 2011

My son graduated from Marian in 2008 and he could not have been better prepared for college. He has maintained a 4.0 for the past three years at a University in Philly. We have always been impressed with the family atmosphere that exists at Marian, as well as the excellent teachers, staff, and administration. If you want moral developemnt, discipline, caring,and an excellent education for you child then you want Marian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

The main reason I did not like this school is because they make you feel inferior if you don't have money. When the parents cannot pay tuition on time, they punish the kids by withholding graduation cap and gown and they are not discreet about it. Which is humiliating to the child even though its not their fault. That is just one example. The teachers are sub par to say the least. They cater to the athletes and let them get away with everything and if your not one of those, it seems you're not relevant. Its is a VERY political school.


Posted November 15, 2008

Overall, it is an excellent school. Been a few years since I was there, however. When I attended, there was a tendancy to feel that if you were not a blue chip, legacy or athlete, or if the prospects of attending college weren't very good, you had the feeling you were being marginalized. Athletics were a means to an end, and academic performance was generally emphasized more than athletics, though as in any school there were exceptions. The school draws from a wide range of communities, and the small size does make for lasting freindships, generrally speaking. Academics were on par, slightly below, or slightly above those of the surrounding public schools. The centralized location, coupled with the small size sa compared to the public schools, made it an generally good experience.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Allentown
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

166 Marian Avenue
Tamaqua, PA 18252
Phone: (570) 467-3335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mahanoy Area High School
Mahanoy City, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT