Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
311 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marian Catholic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Effective ! Gifted ! Wonderful ! Excellent role models! Perfect in every way ! The staff are there for the right reasons.

Marian Catholic High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Homework is fairly assigned . Students are still able to participate in extracurricular activities because the amount of homework per class is realistic .


Marian Catholic High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
My son is challenged everyday academicsly . The teachers are committed and treat every student as an individual . My sons needs are consistently met.

Marian Catholic High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Marian provides an environment with a Catholic foundation , Marian high school excells at installing respect, morality , and a high standard of service to the community .

Marian Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Marian is a bully free school. The children are taught respect toward each other and toward others .my husband and I know our son is safe everyday . Community service is not only recommended to help others , it is a requirement .


Marian Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Academically incredibly, but more importantly , spiritually outstanding ! Children are taught to be morally upstanding citizens .

Marian Catholic High School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely , the best school in the area! Truly the best decision we made for our son .

Marian Catholic High School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a community member
If you live in the Hazleton Area and you are looking for a GREAT SCHOOL, you have to look at Marian Catholic High School. I live in a different state, but my brother's children were Marian students. I was able to compare my children's school academics and activities to theirs. I would highly recommend Marian to any family who has bright children who enjoy being challenged academically. There any many activities for the students who like getting involved, more than my children's school. With the sad state of the public schools in the Hazleton Area, I think Marian is the best choice. It is unfortunate that the priests in the Catholic Chuches in Hazleton do very little to promote this great school.


Marian Catholic High School 3

Posted October 07, 2012
- a community member
The person who graduated in 1976 should not be submitting his experience, and therefore, rating, over 30 years later. Administration and faculty have changed. It's sad to hear his story; hopefully, faculty have been become more attentive to individual needs since then. Having said that, Catholic schools historically seem to do very well with the broad middle group of kids, but not so well on the upper and lower ends. The apparently no flexibility academic tracking system is evidence of that. Because a kid may be sharp in, say, math, does not mean he or she is sharp in physics or foreign language, yet he or she seems to be forced into the entire track. Additionally, a little grade inflation would certainly help those seeking admission to the highly selective colleges and universities. Marian's brightest kids are competing with the brightest kids from larger schools nationally who don't mind a bit of grade-boosting because most of the admission decisions are made by the numbers. Would be nice to see more of our kids admitted to the Ivies and sub-Ivies (Swarthmore, Bryn Mawr, Williams, etc) as well as places such as University of Chicago, Stanford, Vanderbilt, Duke.

Marian Catholic High School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
As a graduate myself, and mother of three graduates, I cannot speak more highly of the experiences we have had at Marian.. It is truely a family atmosphere based VALUES and MORALS. Outstanding academics are forefront and have been the foundation of my childrens' successfull careers. Marian is a special place flying way under the radar

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marian Catholic High School
166 Marian Avenue, Tamaqua, PA  18252
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (570) 467-3335
Last modified Marian Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top