Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Garden El School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers need a strong supportive leader and the principle, although I am sure can be tough, supports her staff and the students. I have always felt that her decisions are fair and based on the best interests of the students. She honestly wants the students to love coming to school. You can't ask for more for an elementary school

New Garden El School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
We have 2 children at this school and have been involved in the school for more than 4 years. We have only had very positive teacher experiences. Even with a long term sub, (due to a maternity leave), the school went above and beyond to make sure that the sub was a great fit and that the students and parents were kept aware of the transition.


New Garden El School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
homework is somewhat dependent upon the teacher and the grade. However the teachers are approachable and willing to compromise. I had a first grader who had a very hard time with homework and we had an optional homework reduction. My 4th grader gets her homework done on the bus and seems to have little to none. We have lots of after-school activities so we like having less homework.

New Garden El School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
The children have core rules, take care of yourself, others and the school. They are simple but effective guide and I have seen nothing but compassion. I have a challenging child and an easy child and both have been given the same opportunities and issues have been resolved fairly and swiftly, My children have become more compassionate at this school, due to the great teaching staff and the diversity of the student body.

New Garden El School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I have a 4th and 1st grader at NGE, and have been very impressed with the teaching and the atmosphere at this school. There is a diverse population but the school has many programs in place for advanced and gifted students and ESL students. Any gaps are quickly identified and all students given opportunities to progress. The teachers and staff genuinely love the students and the environment allows students to nurture their love for learning in a safe and enjoyable environment. I would have no hesitation recommending this school!


New Garden El School 1

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is extremely disappointing. Half of the student population is hispanic, so the majority of the schools resources are applied to them. This in turn slows down the pace of learning for all other students. The year progresses painfully slow . The teachers are disconnected, barely in control of classrooms (with the exception a very few). Minimal homework assignments given, if any at all. Bathrooms are unsanitary.

New Garden El School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at New Garden for 3 years, and it has been a wonderful experience. He's extremely bright (but not part of the "Gifted" program), and had teachers who recognized that he needed to be challenged more. They were in constant contact with me, and went above and beyond to meet his needs. It's a warm, friendly environment with amazing parental involvement. (No better PTO around!) The teachers and staff know every child, and really do care. The "specials" teachers are top-notch. Mrs. Pizzini (Librarian) is young and enthusiastic, and actually teaches about research, among all of the fun things she does for/with the students. Mr. Scheuing (one of the music teachers) founded the Kennett Choir Boys, which means he's a part of the community, and wants to work with kids even after the school day is over. I'll admit I was worried about the impact of the non-English speaking students on the resources in the school, but it's a non-issue. (Their parents may not speak English, but the kids do.) The fact that New Garden Elementary feeds into Kennett Middle School (recognized as one of the top middle schools in the state) is icing on the cake!

New Garden El School 1

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
Mrs. Mcardle is an OK principal but only a few teachers are excellent. Some teachers don't even care about their " Kids" like Mrs. Braunstein.


New Garden El School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
This is an excellent school!! My children need more challenging assignments because of their advanced levels, and every teacher has accomodated them. No matter what your child's level is, they will thrive at this school! Superior Super Intendant, great teachers, you can't go wrong!

New Garden El School 1

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
Save your children alot of grief and do not send your children here....we are moving the end of this year and it will not be soon enough. If you want your children in an environment where profanity and teasing are a normal everyday occurance than that is what they will get at New Garden Elementary. One of my son's teachers is horrible even after I have counseled with the principal regarding the behavior of the teacher. My children have been to 5 different elementaries and we have never had a more stressful, unhappy year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Garden El School
265 New Garden Rd, Toughkenamon, PA  19374
(610) 268-6900
Last modified New Garden El School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Garden El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top