Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beverly Hills Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1529 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL. The education is terrible. The teachers are terrible. The whole school needs repair everywhere, inside and outside. We have to use DUCT TAPE to make some windows shut. There are pest problems, you open your locker and a cockroach comes running out. There are dead cockroaches in the cafeteria. We have to eat microwaved frozen food, and the lunchroom workers don't even clean the tables correctly. This is the WORST school for special aid students, they constantly get bullied. You get bullied about everything you wear, the way you walk, your weight, how you look, EVERYTHING! It is also terrible for gifted students, who NEVER get challenged. There is a gifted program, but there is only one teacher and we only have a total of 80 minutes of "seminar"(gifted class) a week. If you know what is good for your child, if you want them to get somewhere in life, PLEASE DO NOT SEND THEM TO THIS HORRIFIC SCHOOL!!!! I am telling you this from my own experience at Beverly Hills Middle School. It is the opposite of Beverly Hills, CA, don't be fooled. It is a dirty, ratchet, horrifying school! Too Long; Didn't Read BHMS's education is terrible, do not send your kid here!!!!!


Posted October 21, 2013

the school is not even that bad , its only bad because of the ratchet kids and ghetto kids !! the last time we had a food fight was 2 years ago , and there arent even that many fights ! beverly hills is a good school and i would not wanna change schools !! <3


Posted August 2, 2013

I go to this school and its not even bad. The stuff you hear arent even true , yes there may be fights but other than that its a great school and we do fun things and there is lots of clubs you can join like art club , double dutch club , video game , computers and more. On that note Beverly Hills Middle School Is POPPING !!


Posted May 15, 2013

horrible school, worst school ever, its sad, disgusts me, makes me throw up, sad, disgraceful


Posted March 26, 2013

This school is a huge disappointment. It has a bad reputation, and deserves one. The kids are disrespectful to levels that are unbelievable. The bullying is too much, they judge kids about their clothes, race, where they shop, and income. Lots of the kids have special aid staff, but it's usually not for mental problems, its behavioral problems. And the kids just walk out the classrooms whenever they want to. The kids with behavioral issues have classes for them, but they're not working. The kids have a big influence on the good kids. They have food fights and constantly beat each other up, even the teachers (when they try to stop fights). Parental involvement is poor. The kids wear whatever they want and get away with it. Learning is hard in an environment where there is yelling and constant talking. The good kids need to be put in a another class/building with the other well behaved kids. Putting them next to the bad kids won't help the bad kids be good. I would not recommend this school to anybody who wants to learn. Transfer them to another school.Oh yeah, and the floors? There is white dust/dirt on the floors 24/7,and they are permanent on shoes. The kids are really mean.


Posted March 26, 2013

This year I was an incoming student to Beverly Hills. I amazed at all the great extracurricular activities that I can participate in and how hard the teachers work. I was able to witness the lives of our administrators and their jobs. Yes, there are discipline problems, cops, fights, bullies, and inappropriate behaviors. Yes, our test scores are low. But at least our school can show a growth rate to the state. At least Beverly Hills improves educationally. People have to understand that this isn't a college and that we have children coming from Philadelphia who have tough lives.


Posted July 11, 2012

i am a graduate of bhms year 2011-2012. i went there for all three years and have experienced a lot. we have had food and fist fights. the teachers are all different from funny to mean to down right boring, and i have loved them all. bullying is everywhere but the teachers do try to stop it but the students don't care. at bh the students are care free and horrible or sweet,careing and smart. this school gets you ready for real life, unlike other "wonderful " schools where thay make everything easy and problems are fixed for you. bh lets you grow stronger and tells you how life will be like for you. i LOVED bh and wouldn't change the experience for anything <3 :D


Posted November 14, 2011

This school is rated below the national average??? These children get tested time & time again and get answer's from each other. Why bother it is a waste of time and money. The students that want to learn should be in a seperate space, and get the loads out of this school. They lack any kind of respect. Let there parents send them to school and have to pay and see how long they last. They report to school whatever time they want and the school district does NOTHING. They waste everyone efforts to try to make things better. Staff start getting these problem children out of this school!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2011

I attend Beverly Hills Middle School as a seventh grade student. In my opioion, BHMS is an awesome school! It has great staff that take the extra mile to help students learn and flourish happily. BHMS is decently a school I would recommend to anyone. It is an experience to build character and obtain crucial skills that will be needed later in life. But like every school BH has some cons. Bully is a serious problem at BH that is not taken lightly. All the teachers and staff try their best to enforce the no bullying policy. All in all I think BH is the most wonderful school for any child to grow and flourish.


Posted August 9, 2010

This school is a good school. I go there and I love it. The musical program is great, and the teachers all love their students. The principal i great and the kids are SO smart. I recommend it.


Posted May 8, 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about Beverly Hills Middle School. My son is currently in the 6th grade and has done nothing but flourish academically. He left 5th grade at Bywood with excellent grades and an eagerness to learn, and I thought that that would be hindered if he attended BHMS because of all of the negative (mostly incorrect) information I heard about the school. My husband and I even applied to the school board administration to allow him to attend a different middle school in the district that seemed to do better. However, after meeting with BHMS's new principal at the beginning of the school year, we decided to give BHMS a chance. They have made AYP for the past 2 years and the teachers are great. I have a great feeling about this school. Something I would have never said wihtout giving it a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

I go to beverly hills and i love it.Just like every school there are bullies by i think the administration handles that very well.The Students are nice the teachers are nice.I would suggest beverly hills to any student.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2009

Beverly hills is the best school I attended. I have problems in math and my math teacher helps allot to make me get it. I would bring my child there when I have some. The teachers are awesome and go out there way to do stuff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

I'm a student in this school and I am very disappointed. There is not a single place you can go without seeing bullies. Some of our teacher's aren't even doing there jobs right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

The teachers are not doing thier job this school is way below the national average. Something really needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

i've attended to this middle school before and i disliked it very much. My classmates were very rude, disrispectful and mean to others. I remember when i used go here there were many fights that it was ridiculous and there came a point that my parents decided to move to a better distric.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2007

I've been going to this school for about three years, and I don't like it at all. There are so many kids who aren't well disciplined. A lot of people have detention all of the time. It's getting to the point where the lunchroom is so loud, I have less than 5 minutes to eat. There are so many fights, kids hardly even acknowledge it since it's so common. Even I'm like 'There was a fight today? Isn't there a fight everyday? No wonder why there's cops everywhere'. Our PSSA scores just downright SUCK. I still don't get why our grades are so bad. Everytime report cards come out, I always hear somebody say 'Wow, *this kid's* GPA was .02' or something along those lines. Even though everywhere you turn, it says 'Bears Don't Bully', the school is filled with bullies. This school is so bad, I'm moving pretty soon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

BH is a great school!The teachers care alot about the kids and will do anything to help them.It is a very diverse school and I'm glad I go to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2007

I am less worried about my daughter's safety at Beverly Hills than when she attended her grade school. It seems like they handle discipline problems better. My child is doing well and finally feels safe at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

I think that BH offers a lot for the students in extra activities. However, I feel that academically the school doesn't offer adequate interventions for students to make progress. There's a tracking system for the students but whose tracking the teachers to make sure that classroom management is on point and that differentiated instruction is taking place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

430 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

430 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

442 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

441 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

486 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

487 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

485 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

490 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
Black58%
Asian91%
Hispanic71%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
English language learners42%

Reading

All Students45%
Female47%
Male44%
Black36%
Asian71%
Hispanic43%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learners10%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Black68%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
English language learners47%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male56%
Black56%
Asian79%
Hispanic52%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
English language learners28%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male75%
Black68%
Asian97%
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learners68%

Reading

All Students74%
Female80%
Male69%
Black67%
Asian92%
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
English language learners48%

Science

All Students36%
Female34%
Male38%
Black26%
Asian62%
Hispanic28%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learners20%

Writing

All Students62%
Female71%
Male53%
Black53%
Asian89%
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
English language learners64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 3%
White 8% 71%
Hispanic 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Garrett Rd
Upper Darby, PA 19082
Phone: (610) 626-9317

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Alice School
Upper Darby, PA


St. Laurence School
Upper Darby, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT