Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wesley Spectrum Academy

Private | 4-12 | 95 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Upper St. Clair

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

This school and organization is all about the bottom line. The school has changed for The worse since my child has been there. I am so thankful we don't have to return. The amount of stuff that goes on in the school that doesn't make the news is quite unreal. It is unsafe for both the teachers and students. The academics are a joke. Over the past two years, all the good staff have left and it's a shame. I would never in a million years recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

My son went there for a little over a year and it was a complete nightmare! Don't let your school district send your child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I go to Wesley Spectrum Academy and I think it has helped me throughout the years that I have been there but this year everything has changed a lot. For starters some of the staff there are to involved in our lives. For example my best friend and her boyfriend had to sign a contract to agree to stop talking about their relationship for a week but the worst part of it is they didn't listen to the students. I think if you are thinking about sending your child here you should those staff members did what they thought was a good thing and the boy and girl agreed it worked for them I love this school it is a very helpful school they want you to succeed not fail. plus there is a great sports program it is a great school. I love the staff there and if i had a child with a disability i would definitely send them here.


Posted September 16, 2013

My child has been attacked in this school on more than one occasion. NEVER was I contacted until far after the fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I attended WSA and graduated a few years ago. While the emotional support was nice (and needed at the time), I was not challenged enough in some of my classes to prepare me for college. The two teachers that really had a "regular ed" class layout was Ms. Kulla and Ms. Capperrelli. However, there still was no honors classes that I should have been taking instead of regular high school level. If your child does not have a serious behavioral problem and needs college prep classes, I would not recommend enrolling them at WSA. However, if your child has learning disabilities and needs a slower, one on one learning environment ... it could work. Thankfully, because of my previous schooling and some test prep, I still received a 25 or 26 on my ACT and I am attending a good university. I would also like to say that I loved all the staff I worked with very much and if the school had less behavioral problems and more difficult courses, it would have been perfect.


Posted May 3, 2013

The assaults happening this past week in the dungeon basement 8th grade classroom have not been reported to the Police or to the PA Dept of Education thereby creating an unsafe atmosphere for all the students at Wesley Academy. We wonder if ignorance is an excuse or if it just tuition lost if students were transferred to other W programs? In the meantime short staffed situations should be remedied if that is excuse presented to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

not only does this school not academically challenging, the good teachers are eclipsed by the sub-par teachers, and the admin do not involve the parents in decisions impacting the child. they also overstate (overstate at best, lie about at worst) their capacity to offer children an individualized curricula and appropriate support. wholly disappointing and worrying experience. please, please consider other alternatives before subjecting your child and yourself to the frustration and disappointment. know your rights, know your child's rights. but, also, don't be surprised if the admin act out of spite when you question the way they've handled situations. oh, and if you're child is in pittsburgh public schools, please consider the pps cyber academy as an alternative, which will still allow your child to be eligible for pittsburgh promise, which pa cyber school does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

i would not go with anything with the wesley spectrum name, school or otherwise, it has been one of the WORST companies to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

The school is very low in the Academic scale the hold all the students to the same academic level which hinders the other students learning time. they also base the students behavioral on a scale and on Friday they shorten all class periods and then "Reward" the students whom have behaved all week and have earned a average of 93.5% of there points and the other level below that is is also rewarded. Life is not graded by points the world grades you on how successful you are in life so that being said teach some real classes


Posted May 10, 2010

A private school that offers some emotional or mild behavioral support.Classes are designed to be small thus providing more of a 1 on 1 interaction with student and teacher.The school is not up to par on it's education standards and often 'dumb' down the qualifications to pass tests or even graduate.Many students come to this school do to being bullied at their district school but the atmosphere here is just the same.Most of the teachers are fresh out of collage and lack well established teaching skills.My child was given a education here for 4 years it left them with very little skills to use in collage and I regret my decision of enrolling them. Putting the cons aside if your out of all options with helping your child then this school is better than nothing...Tho I would suggest anyone to look into the Pa cyber charter school before considering Wesley Spectrum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

Wesley Spectrum is a private school with support for kids with emotional or behavioral issues. It is also a good private school for kids who are not comfortable in big school and who thrive with individualized programs and lots of one-on-one attention. While the education may not be the equal of a Peters Township. the attention is valuable if your child needs that kind of service. As with any school, stay on top of your kid's rights.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Black 12% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ASN

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

243 Johnston Rd
Upper St. Clair, PA 15241
Website: Click here
Phone: (412) 833-6444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Streams El School
Pittsburgh, PA





Baker El School
Pittsburgh, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT