Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nether Providence El School

Public | 1-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

Bullying is a huge problem at NPE. Staff is not proactive or effective in this matter, nor is the principal. Rudeness is rampant. Also, certain teachers and aids operate with complete impunity, which is never a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

My son is finishing up the 2nd grade at NPE and I have another entering kindergarten in the fall. I have been so happy with the teachers and staff at NPE, as well as the other parents I have met. The teachers truly care about the success of their students and there is a real sense of caring. My son is being challenged and encouraged to be the best student he can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

NPE is an excellent school. I am very pleased with the fact that there is order and discipline. Kids are not allowed to run wild, as they do at some schools. Not all parents are happy about that, especially if they have kids who don't behave well. Fair enough. My kids thrive at this school, their teachers are very competent, kind and fair. My kids are learning so much, doing interesting projects and enjoying extracurricular activities. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The principal is very responsive and supportive. When I've emailed him with questions, I've gotten a prompt, courteous and satisfying reply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

If your child is a quiet, obedient lump of clay they will do well here. If not, they will be worn down to submission via whatever humiliating means the teachers can get away with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

We LOVE NPE! I have two kids, second and fourth grade. We have had great experiences each year. I've volunteered in the classrooms and for PTO events. The teachers are very caring and professional. The principal is very approachable, he knows each child's name. The music program has been wonderful, free lessons, orchestra experience. The teachers are very innovative and hard working, very concerned with the success of each child in the class. This is the most diverse school in the district, there are kids from many different backgrounds here. Overall, the climate of the school is very positive and warm. Our kids have made great friends. We love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

Nether Providence elementary is supposed to be such an exceptional school, but I found out lacking. Since of the teachers are very full of themselves and the environment is standoffish. My son had special needs and they wound up shipping him off to a horrible school in June. I didn't feel like they wanted to deal with him. There is also no sense of solidarity amongst the parents. My son now attends the other elementary school in Wallingford and its doing much better and I feel like they actually want to help me with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Teachers are great however the principal is terrible! In front of others he is personable but when no one is watching, pompous jerk, (for lack of a better word). Very unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Had two children go through this school about 5-8 years ago and we absolutely LOVED the school! We moved from Philadelphia into the school district and the teachers were dedicated to getting our kids caught up and on track with their curriculum. We had some issues though with our last child in the school which turned us off. He is special needs and we felt that the level of communication between the school and us was not on par. We were VERY disappointed because we expected the same quality of education that we received from the older two and did not get it. Needless to say he is no longer at this school as we decided that maybe a home schooling situation would be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My daughter is a first grader at NPE. She has had a wonderful experience here. Her teacher is excellent, high-energy, intelligent, caring and committed. She has 18 children in her class, with two teachers present. I paid $12K for that ratio last year year in private school. What NPE offers is superior to private schools I'm familiar with as a student and parent. The environment is warm, nurturing and orderly. It really seems that each child matters, each child is given what they need to succeed. The school is more diverse than the two other in the district, which is a plus. There are many resources available, esp in music education. Values such as tolerance, kindness and responsibility are openly taught and encouraged. We could not be more pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

a wonderful school...very strong academically, while at the same time warm and nurturing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

Our children LOVE NPE, and so do we as their parents. It is a 'Family' oriented school, and the teachers, and staff are exceptional. The quality of academic programs are wonderful, including all extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is extremely high, and that is very important. As the slogan goes, 'NPE IS THE PLACE TO BE!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

My children have been going here for years. Top notch teaching staff ... they are the secret of Wallingford-Swarthmore. The teacher dedication is overwhelming. My children are receiving the best education possible! The extra activities - Math Club, Reading Club, Fitness Club, Running Club, and Art Club are fantastic. The music program offered is second to none! Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I have a child entering NPE located in Wallingford PA.I just know this school is very good and does care about the children, and their safety. Teachers spend as much time as they can possible with each student and as a parent that's extremely important to me & my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female91%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female81%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Black 7% 15%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 Moore Rd
Wallingford, PA 19086
Phone: (610) 892-3470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St John Chrysostom School
Nether Providence Township, PA





Coebourn El School
Brookhaven, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT