Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Strath Haven Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

I had one daughter go through the Wallingford Swarthmmore School district and she is now a 2nd year college student. I also have a middle school-er. We have been generally pleased with the district and level of education as a whole. I feel that great school are a product of a great neighborhood and parents who are engaged in their child's learning. My second child is having a completely different time in SHMS than the first child. the new school building is wonderful but school renovations or lack there of had no bearing on the great education the kids received years ago, it is really great teachers and a wonderful community that makes great schools. So glad we live here and are a part of the WSSD community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

I am so pleased withthe education that my daughter is getting at SHMS. The classes are diverse, and I really feel taht she is being challenged in many different ways by the curiculum. The music and foreign language programs are great. The extracurriculars are amazing and really allow the chidlren to explore different options of what they might like to pursue. Amazing school. I recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

The teachers are committed and dedicated to providing an solid education for our children, in a safe and respectful environment where children are given opportunities to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

i go to this school and i love it. It is everything you could ever imangine a school could be. The teachers are great we learn TON and we have fun with all the extracurricular activities we have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

I just moved here to Wallingford, PA and I think that Strath Haven Middle School is really nice! Education wise and teacher wise!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2009

im in the middle of moving out of state and will not be returning to Strath Haven which will be a shame concidering that Strath Haven isthe best thing thats happened to me.the 6th grade teachers do there best to make you exell in all you do. they encourage you to move forward and not give up. The dean and principal are amazing at there job. As for the students, they are welcoming, and like i did, students will make friends that will last forever. no one fells left out. and if you do, a teacherwill take help if you ask. in the year of 6th grade, i have excelled to advanced math and reading when i was origiallly in normal. i wish that I could stay another year to see what that tastes like. written by a sixth grader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2009

I am an eighth grader at Strath haven and love it. The students are friendly and eager to partcipate in class discussions, plus the sports, music, and arts programs are great. Strath Haven makes me feel safe and welcome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

This school is great, if you are a new student you get to have new student breakfasts, (that get you out of class), and make you feel more welcome. The 6th grade dean and principal are nice and always there to help you. This school has done nothing short of great for me as a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

I love the school. The help for LD children is superb, the teachers are excellent and compassionate, and we are kept constantly informed about our child's progress/problems. My child went to Benchmark before, and I must say I am sorry I did not send her to public school much earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Some teachers are great Flawed math program is a big negative. There have been many discipline problems at the school but a new principal is starting for 2007/08. Lots of activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

School has strong music program but there is much favoritism exhibited by teachers. This school is not friendly to new families. There is no support if you are new to the district and the Middle School Teachers in particular are not very accomodating for kids who did not come up through the district's elementary schools. If you are new, do not expect that you child will be picked for a team or special chorus position etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Stath Haven has helped my nephew with his academics since the day he arrived there in september of 2005. They have given him all the help he needs that will help him to be a better student. He is doing much better and he enjoys going to school. Where he came from he was a terrible student and hated to go to school. They have helped me to help him enjoy school and participate in extracurricular activities that he enjoy. I am very involved in both my boys as far as their education is concerned and the sports that they participate ib
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

Strath Haven Middle School is a very good learning enviroment. In SHMS , we have a library, lap top computers that can be used in diffrent classes, and many high tech microscopes for science classes. The teachers teaching are wonderful and very supportive of there students. There is a counsolor to each grade and the 8th grade counsolour is a very loving counsolour named Mrs.Green. Mrs.Green will listen to anyones problems with concern and passion. Overall, Strath Haven Middle SChool is a very good enviroment for children.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

262 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

259 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

267 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

263 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

223 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

239 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black76%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)87%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black84%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)68%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black75%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic100%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black82%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnic100%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male94%
Black73%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)76%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black79%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)80%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female83%
Male88%
Black47%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black58%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 71%
Black 9% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Fencing
  • Field hockey
  • Gymnastics
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 South Providence Rd
Wallingford, PA 19086
Phone: (610) 892-3470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St John Chrysostom School
Nether Providence Township, PA





The Christian Academy
Brookhaven, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT