Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Tennent High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

William tennent is an excellent school. It is completely up to your child if they want to reach success and exaggerates the point that not everything in life is handed to you. As for for academic programs there is many courses and help provided for students. Compared to private schools such as villa, villa does not offer help in children with children who struggle with disabilities. Tennent has a abundance of activities and I personally know people who want to come to this school rather than going to private school just because of how well our classes and extra curricular actives are. I can guarantee your child will have a great experience here if they are willing to learn and apply themselves. Over all tennent is a beautiful school considering the remodeling and constantly having fun things to do. Besides tennents everyday courses, they offer MBIT which is a trade school for students interested. I highly reccomend this school. P.s a majority of doctors at my hospital I work at are all William tennent graduates making close to 150k or more a year. Best of wishes


Posted March 21, 2014

My boys either have gone, are attending or will begin next year. There is a sense of pride within the school and the music program is second to none. Fortunately, both my boys are honor roll students and are flourishing, their friends seem to be as well. As for the negative comments about language, my older son is going into his 4th yr of German next yr, younger will be in 2nd year. They LOVE it and the teachers. I do feel some of the teachers can be a little less uptight, but only a very few I am thinking of. There will always be different categories of students, those that have plans for a bright future and those that are there only because they have to and they put in little to no effort. This is the case everywhere. One more really important thing I commend is the accomodations for special needs in the school and classrooms. I have always had support and cooperation for my older step who was handicapped and my youngest, who is mildly autistic. All schools and districts have test scores and ranks, but few give consideration to special needs programs unless it's a way of life for them. That said, I am pretty content as to what the school is providing to my boys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

William Tennent is a hit or miss, you get what you put into it. If you're used to having things offered to you without trying, then you're going to be disappointed. You really have to try and be ambitious if you want to have the best experience possible at Tennent. There are a lot of clubs, but some are unorganized. The art funding is minimum and it's too sports oriented, but the art programs that we do have is our strongest quality. Theater and musicals are underfunded, however the theater kids are not very nice as a whole and kind of stuck up. There is an okay LGBT scene, however some people can be rude about it-just ignore them and you'll be fine. Tennent used up a lot of its budget on the new school, so there are a lot of budget cuts. The foreign language program isn't very strong, there are few teachers-and only one or two of them are very commendable. The English, Science, History and Art teachers are mostly good-a few really great teachers who really care about their students. It's hard to change classes and the counselors are not always available. There are going to be some behavioral issues or fights, and people have anger issues, but just respect them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2013

As a current student here, I can tell you that Tennent is a hit or miss. The music program is great, but music classes don't always into an honors or AP schedule. The art program is also great but underclassmen have to sacrifice their world language to take them. The staff can be somewhat idiotic with policies. Girls who wear shorts that couldn't even be acceptable as underwear go unpunished while girls who have shorts or skirts that are inches longer than the rule are harassed. Also, when it comes to AP classes...... They only have one or two of each class in the schedule. There's a huge focus on sports. Some of the teams are very good but the football team is mediocre. Plus, the students have no manners whatsoever. The kids make a point of being rude to their teachers and fellow students. They also do not focus on their grades or extracurriculars (unless they play sports or are in music). The counselors are no help either. When I went in to the office, I knew more about colleges and local enrichment programs than she did. Still, there are some great teachers on the staff. The biology and English teachers are great.


Posted February 1, 2013

I went to Tennent 20 years ago and thought it was a good school. My son attends now and the school is not the same. Teachers have lost their way. Teachers have not treated my son like he is a human being. It's very sad that the school has declined in my opinion. I am hoping they clean up the school by weeding out the bad apples in the faculty basket. I am so sorry I enrolled my son in this school and if I could go back I would never have done it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

Your school experience is what you make of it. I have a daughter who graduated from this school and she went on to excel in college and is now a public school teacher herself. I have a son and daughter there now and theyre doing well and participating in some sports and some honors classes and after school activities. Tennent serves an average suburban area. It's neither affluent nor poor and the local schools will reflect that. To some extent were all products of our environment. In a few short months there will be a brand new William Tennent HS for the students to go to. Remember, this school is free to attend from our property taxes! If you want to, send your kids to Germantown Academy for $26,000 a year in tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

I am a recent graduate from William Tennent HS and a current student a BCCC. This school is pathetic in almost every thing that is offered there. As a current college student, I am actually learning what is going to help me succeed in life and William Tennent did nothing besides down talking me that im not good enough to succeed in my future because i was not a all star football player or a einstein in certain academics. Most staff and teachers alike tell most student this and thats one of the reasons why those student turn to drugs and wanna-be thugs. I give this school no credibility for what I am today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2010

The school board does not put students first. The result has been loss of families with children going to communities where the kids and their education is a priority. Enrollment has been declining and the Centennial SD ranks in the bottom third of schools in Bucks County and has ranked that way for the past 15 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

As a former student and a current educator I must say Tennent had a lot to offer. The problem was many kids, like myself, didn't care to take advantage of all the opportunities Tennent provided. If you took easy classes they were easy, if you challenged yourself, you would be working hard to earn your grades. My years at Tennent were not the best, but mostly due to my own self destruction. I finally blossomed in College, but believe my foundational education at Tennent enabled me to graduate Magna Cum Laude from a Division 1 school. Tennent is what you make of it. You can't force kids to care, you can only hope you inspire them. As for the PSSA pressure, that is state wide. Every school from Urban Philadelphia to Council Rock is under the same pressure and is often pushing test taking skills. Call your congressman!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2010

All this school district cares about is sports and pssa's im in the schools music program and although there are good teachers, the funding is just not there. The district braggs about fine arts week wich they have once a year. The marching band is the only really good thing about the school's music program, thank god for Mr. Lovecchio!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

A school is what you make of it. Having 3 daughters attend over the years I feel the school is above average in nearly all categories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

School is poor teachers only can talk by emial and only if you try to rech them first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

do not send your kids here! all the school cares about is sports and pssa's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

Do your child a favor do not send the there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I think our school is great and both the positive and negative comments on this site pretty much hits the nail on the head. No school is perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

As a parent I am not happy with Tennent. The whole focus is PSSA's. Kids who want AP courses can't always get them because they are only offered once a day. THe music program is the districts shining star which they bring out to brag about at Fine Arts Festival once a year . The music kids schedules are always difficult bcause the school has difficulty fittin it into rosters. And if a parent emails the principal and ?school board there is no response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

Though Tennent is not the greatest school in PA it is a great school. If a person does not participate in a sport or club it is not the schools fault. They offer good sports with well qualified coaches and the teachers are as nice and helpful as anywhere else. Let alone the nationally award winning marching band. No one is looked down on for not doing activities but we are encouraged to do so to reach our full potential and go to a good school with great credentials.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2008

The only thing admins care about is the PSSAs. Teachers don't care about the students, and the only enforced rules are about iPods and cell phones. Teachers/guidance councellors/admins make a huge deal out of our horrible football team and look down upon those who cannot participate in sorts becasue they have to work every day. The classes are anything but challenging, and my honours class is less work than my A-track class. The only acceptable thing in this school is our music program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2007

Just an ok school. Rarely students make it to top colleges. Staff does neither give nor keep students information/requirements regarding top colleges. Counselors are insignificant. Most teachers uninspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

An ok school that I would be willing to send my own children to (speaking as an alumni). Parent involment could be greater though. Has good sports team and other extra curricular programs (their music program is decent too), though the administration is not always consistent in decisions regarding student participation.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

432 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male71%
Black24%
Asian100%
Hispanic40%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Black41%
Asian84%
Hispanic80%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female21%
Male36%
Black0%
Asian47%
Hispanic32%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black65%
Asian95%
Hispanic96%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)59%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 71%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Black 4% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Centennial Rd
Warminster, PA 18974
Phone: (215) 441-6181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Middle Earth Academy
Warminster, PA



ATG Learning Academy
Warminster, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT