Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Newton El School

Public | K-4 | 228 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2012

What a difference a year makes! Last year this school was a nightmare for myself and my child. This year has been much better! The entire administration was changed during the summer. It has made all the difference. I no longer fear sending my child to school! Still a few rotten apples in the place, but you have that everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Teachers and staff are the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

My grandson goes there and my granddaughters did go there and they do good on their tests. The teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Our elementary school is the BEST. Small hometown school with outstanding teachers in a close knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

My Children and I LOVE this School! It's a nice small town kind of school, and the Teachers and Staff are Great. I feel that my kids are fortunate to go to West Newton Elementary and wouldn't want it any other way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

My son is a second grader there and the teachers and staff are AWESOME!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

it is a small neighborhood school that serves around 250 kids I'd say 50% of the kids that attend their parents attended there also! We have wonderful, caring teachers and a town who loves ther school three years ago the school was shut down to help save money and the town and surrounding communities fought hard and long but got it reopened!!!! Small classroom sizes and great parent teacher relationships are just one of the assets this school has to offer! seasoned teachers that have taught at school for over 30 years and lots of new fresh faces! Wonderful Title 1 programs also just can't say enough about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It is a woderful community to live in and raise your children. THe teachers and staff treat you and your kids like family. THey know everyone and make you feel special. The PTO is awesome and always helps the school, teachers and students1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It is close enough that most children can walk to it and their staff is exemplary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

This is my child's second year at West Newton Elementary. My child loved both teachers and loves going to school. I'm surprised by the amount of work that is accomplished and pleased that the school is small enough that our family gets personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My children attended West Newton and the entire experience was a nightmare. I am very disappointed with the way the school works. I hope they get the problems worked out because the children that are in the school deserve better than they get.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female95%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female86%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female89%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female89%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)91%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 71%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1208 Vine St
West Newton, PA 15089
Phone: (724) 872-5877

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rostraver El School
Belle Vernon, PA



H W Good El School
Herminie, PA




Mendon El School
Ruffsdale, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT