Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elmer L Meyers Junior/Senior High School

Public | 7-12 | 905 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

i use to be in that school graduated class of 2012 i hope the students this year can keep the tradition alive


Posted June 8, 2012

I was graduated from good ole "Elmer L" over sixty years ago and did not start college until 10 years later. I had taken a college civics course and realized that I learned all that stuff at Meyers and it was foolish to warm a seat regurgitating stuff I already knew. I ended up CLEP-ing the first two years of college and taking subject area tests for the last year. We had some super teachers way back when!


Posted May 10, 2011

I love this school, and they are so supportive. The teachers are great. The only thing realy lacking is SCHOOL SPIRIT and that is needed when having pride in something you love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

The teaching staff is very concerned about the childrens progress. The administration has always treated me with respect and professionalism when i need to discuss my childrens educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I think this is a great school because we have great teachers and very successful athletes. That's not it because there are so many good things I can say about this school. I also would like to give credit to our counselours for always being there when we need them the most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2009

I think that the dress code is a stupid idea. The kids are not going to be able to exspress them selves. i think that the kids are going to be less coroperative. thats my oppinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Meyers is a great school filled with diversity and great oppurmities. The leadership from the pricible is extraordinary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

becaues that is the best school ever and the teachers are nice and the food is good
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

Best school in WBASD! One of highet test scoring schools in the state =). Very proud to go here. All bad rumors aren't true. BLUE & GOLD!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2008

Out of control school. Needs a STRONG dress code. Things have really gone down hill in my old School. More teachers need to get involved in the mess this school has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Meyers High School, is the best school in WBASD. I am pleased to say that I attend school there everyday during the school year. I love how the teachers have great skill in preparing me for the future. The coaches and student body can't beat any other school, they are very friendly and understanding people. Our extracurricular activities are top notch! My father is a alumni of this school and I am happy to keep the tradition alive! GO MHS! best school spirit ever, blue and gold will forever run through my veins
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

the best school in the area, great staff, excellent student body, the students lear a lot!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

As an alumni and avid believer that school is what you make of it, Meyers gives all students ample opportunity to reach their greatest learning potential.


Posted September 19, 2006

I personally was a Meyers student (Class of '05) and I got to say, it is the best school in the WBASD. Teachers were great, classes were great, everything....great. If I had the choice to go back, I would.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2005

Faculty friendly.....school spirit. Awesome high school experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 9, 2005

Its is a great school with good academic programs the parents are really involed they have good sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

I am a graduate of Meyers H.S. In passing, the great teachers and coaches at Meyers not only prepared me for the academics of college, but prepared me for challenges of life. I am a successful engineer, and looking back on what has brought me to this point, by far, the teachers and coaches at Meyers have influenced my life the most.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2004

I am a student a Meyers High School. It is possibly the best High School in the district. With its very high-standardized test scores, excellent sporting programs, and obvious school spirit it is at the top of my list of schools I would attend. Its excellent faculty ensures that every student will be given a fair chance. Its English and Math departments excel in preparing you for the SATs. If I had the choice to attend any school in Pennsylvania I would choose E.L. Meyers High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2004

I am a student at Meyers. I'd like to first clear up any bad things you may have heard about my school. As a matter of fact, we were told that we have one of the highest state test scores out of the other schools in the district. Anyone who has gone to Meyers knows that Mohawk Pride is the one thing that keeps us students striving to achieve excellency among the other public, as well as private, schools in the state.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female68%
Male40%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learners0%

Reading

All Students55%
Female70%
Male42%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
English language learners23%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female65%
Male49%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female73%
Male59%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students49%
Female43%
Male54%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students61%
Female72%
Male52%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female46%
Male46%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learners7%

Reading

All Students63%
Female67%
Male59%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learners8%

Science

All Students36%
Female32%
Male41%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learners7%

Writing

All Students79%
Female87%
Male71%
Black84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
English language learners33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 71%
Black 21% 15%
Hispanic 20% 8%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

341 Carey Ave
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone: (570) 826-7145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Aloysius' School
Wilkes-Barre, PA


St. Boniface School
Wilkes-Barre, PA



Bridgeview School
Wilkes-Barre, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT