Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
394 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
86 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 111 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
The Academy provides small class sizes, which promotes one-on-one learning. The teacher genuinely care about a student success.

Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a student
Excellent community. Friendly students and staff make for a great schooling experience. The teachers are high quality and care about their students' success.


Harrisburg Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
The school is very ethnically diverse and one of the major reasons we chose it. It is important for my children to be exposed to many cultures, religions and practice. They practice empathy and respect for each other's backgrounds.

Harrisburg Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
Students are asked to respect the belongings of others and school property. There are few if any that lock their lockers. It is an intimate school so it is important to trust each other. Teachers offer take home tests/quizzes that are completed on an honor system. They explain how in adult life you are trusted to do your job yourself thus teaching honesty, integrity and work ethic.

Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
The rigorous academics challenge my children while the small class size provides the individual attention to help them succeed. We love the diversity of the student body and the culture that fosters a relationship with the greater community and encourages volunteerism.


Harrisburg Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
Because of the small class size, teachers have more availability to give individual attention. I'm not sure if it's required or just the culture of the school but my experience is that all teachers are willing to meet outside of class for extra help if needed. Teachers approach us directly about ways to enrich my children's education. The teacher's really get to know their students.

Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Harrisburg Academy has been a great fit for our family. We love the school community and the faculty and staff are second to none! Its not just about what our kids are learning, rather how they are learning. Our kiddos are becoming knowledgeable, well-spoken, caring young citizens, excited every day!

Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
I am a mom of three Harrisburg Academy students (6th, 3rd, and 1st grade). All three children have been at the Academy since the three year old HATS program. I send my children to the Academy because I love the community of students, parents, and faculty. There is a great partnership between all because each Academy family is strongly committed to the education of their child/children. I love that the students are exposed to the world of fine arts, music, drama, and creativity while being in an academically challenging environment. The Academy offers a wonderful opportunity for each of its students to thrive.


Harrisburg Academy 3

Posted January 17, 2015
- a student
The Harrisburg Academy is an overall decent school. I have gone there since kindergarten and have made some very close friends. Some of the teachers are very supportive and nice while others are terrible. The food at Harrisburg Academy is awful. It tastes fake and the silverware has old food on it. The elementary school is very good, but the middle school does not offer enough extracurricular activities. The drama options are low and the only sorts offered are basketball, lacrosse, and soccer, because there are not enough kids to play.

Harrisburg Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Personalized college counseling with a dedicated and knowledgeable college counselor is one of the best unsung heroes of Harrisburg Academy s upper school program. The college counselor is great! She advocates for our students and helps colleges understand the caliber of our school. She s really focused on getting to know the students first hand teaching the college prep class twice a week to all of the juniors of course I know this will help her tailor letters of recommendation, when the time comes! Other parts of the college prep program include having the students participate in a mock application review process and hearing from guest speakers. Her knowledge, energy, confidence, and enthusiasm serve our students well. I also love her open door policy it sounds clich but it s not! This type of service is clearly an advantage of being in the Academy s upper school. I cannot imagine there is another school in our area that has a college counseling program or person like this.

Nearby schools

Harrisburg Academy
10 Erford Rd, Wormleysburg, PA  17043
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 111 reviews. (717) 763-7811
Last modified Harrisburg Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top