Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cheltenham High School

Public | 9-12 | 1469 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

My son cannot learn in this environment. We took him out and into a private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

Wonderful academics, amazing opportunities, caring and talented teachers...our son has thrived at CHS. The Arts program is incomparable as are the running/track programs. All of this while surrounded by a diverse student body in every aspect with a truly caring leader, Andrew Kuhn and a talented Superintendant. We truly love Cheltenham School District
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

Cheltenham School district has been great for my children. They've made great friends over the years and have grown into responsible intelligent young adults. If I had to do it all over again, I'd choose this area again to raise my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Cheltenham High School functions like a Junior College ! They prepare students for Higher Learning and Life as a mature young adult. They value the input from students and the teaching staff is superb! As a parent I am confident that my son will be very prepared for College ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This is a vibrant, diverse, challenging high school that consistently appears on nationally rankings of best high schools in the country. The leadership in the school is amazing, I have full faith in the principal who has taught at this high school, led at another school and came back. The teaching staff is dedicated and knows how to engage young adults. If you are looking for a school with the highest expectations for its students, and with a student body that reflects the world around us- racially, economically, religiously, and outlook-wise-- this is the place for your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

We chose to move our family back to Cheltenham and raise our children here. Our family has benefited from our school system, with great academics, amazing music and arts at every grade level, dedicated teachers, involved parents with a wonderful small town atmosphere. My children have lifelong friendships, many forged in kindergarten. This is a lovely place to live
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

The district desperately needs to work on hearing parents. I removed all of my children from Cheltenham schools and we are moving out of the township. I have nothing good to report.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Cheltenham High School is a wonderful public school experience. The HS offers a broad range of AP classes, the Arts and Music programs are second to none, and the school leadership is impressive. CHS is named as one of the top 2,000 public high schools in the country and its' graduates go on to great success in college. As a parent, I feel so lucky that my children are receiving such a strong, broad based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Cheltenham High School is considered one of the best in the country. It is consistently included in Philadelphia Magazines yearly top school districts list. Size wise it is much smaller than many the surrounding suburban districts. CHS is committed to high academic standards for all of its students. And I can't say enough about the commitment to arts and humanities in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

CHS has gone down very much even in the 4 years I have been there. There has been a cut in the recycling program. All the recycling just gets thrown away instead of being put to good use. Cheltenham may have extensive AP courses, but they are offered to everyone making class sizes too large. I have AP classes sometimes with over 20 kids that makes learning difficult and makes teaching nearly impossible for educators. Due to budges cuts, CHS lost some excellent instructors and therefore classes such as weight training had to be cut from the curriculum. The culinary arts department has been suffering from faulty sinks nearly all year. We don't have hat water in most of the faucets. I'm sorry to say that the district is certainly not what it once was
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2013

This school really sucks, ever since I was enrolled into this school from being a private school I went downhill. If you want to save your kids from failure don't send them here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Sadly the school district continues to have unjust practices in educating African American students. The problems starts in elementary school and increases through middle school into high school. By 4th grade the students are segregated in math and English classes base on a district provided test - the student who test high are placed together in faster paced classes while the other are left in what is called enrich versus more advance classes. The education exposure is different. The student class learning materials and pace is different between the 2 classes levels. Thus, often AA students are not prepared to handle the rigorous classroom curriculums. These significant gaps in academic achievement that has been documented for more than 15 years. AA parents must stay involved with PTO, school counselor, and teachers to insure a quality education for their students. This is the 2nd year with a new principal who appears is very attentive to their needs. Hopefully with his leadership, equality is coming soon. The diversity could be a wonderful experience if the education was equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

Although the stats look great for this school - don't be fooled !! Racial inequities are all too common! Segregation exists within the school, placing students who are socially economically disadvantaged in classes all limped together and overcrowded. The achievement gap is of the largest in the south east Pa region. There are 29 AP courses, enrollment of pupils equals 857, and 181 are of color. If in fact only 181 are of color, among 1500 children and 857 are white , how then will the disadvantage advance. This district keeps the underlying racial oppression a biggggg secret!! Kids notice the inequities and speak of it in the communities but not publicly for fear of retaliation
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2013

I was thrilled by the elementary and lower middle schools, however between Cedarbrook and Cheltenham High I have been disgusted. Elkins Park provides a well supported learning environment, however once students get to Cedarbrook and Cheltenham the focus tends to be on testing constantly rather than education. The school offers tutoring that doesn't seem to be at all effective; teachers are for the most part unwilling to remain in contact with parents and there is little sense of community. Students bully others, my child has been a victim of theft numerous times and was once beat up and robbed, reported the person who did it and no disciplinary action was taken. The school is fostering an environment of hostility among the students and is ineffective in educating. I have watched my child deteriorate over the last few years and am working to move into a better school district. Also to the person who suggested all of the illegal students were moved out: every day I watch carloads of kids from Mount Airy hop onto the bus in our neighborhood. They openly state that they live in Philly, I've reported it and nothing has been done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

Far too many fools from Philadelphia are registered in our school district and nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

I am a previous student of CHS. Being a transfer student, but the other students and faculty treated me horribly. They never returned phonecalls or e-mails from my parents, and they treated me like I was stupid (especially the head of the math department) even though I have always been an above-average student. Great if you're from one of their feeder schools, horrible if you're a transfer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2010

As an alumnus with a (much) younger sibling graduating this year, I have to say I am saddened at how much the school has changed since I attended. I truely believe that I received a superior education that allowed me to attend a great college and graduate school. While many of the same great teachers are still at CHS, and the extra-curriculars are wonderful, the current principal and many administrators are horrible to deal with, do not appear to care about the student as an individual, and are more concerned with running the place like a juvenile detention center than an educational institution. While opportunities for academic acheivment still exist, I would sadly send my own child to private school before CHS as it now exists.


Posted April 14, 2010

5 stars. my daughter is in 10th grade and the quality of the education she is receiving is superior and will bode well in the college of her choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I have had the opportunity to get to know the administrators of the Cheltenham High School and worked with them very closely. They have gone out of their way to help me in any way they can. I recently enrolled my 16-year-old kid at the CHS offices and I again was very impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of the Registration staff, especially B. Higgins, the secretary of the Vice Principal at that school. Thank you all, for such a great job that you provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

This is a singular place. Even if he sentiment isn't always matched by the administration, CHS students and faculty cherish the extraordinary learning that takes place within these walls, inside and beyond the classroom. CHS graduates leave equipped with exceptional emotional and intellectual maturity and a deep understanding of the larger world that makes them stand out in their post-secondary academic and vocational lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

341 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

304 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

296 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female72%
Male67%
Black58%
Asian81%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male74%
Black69%
Asian86%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)41%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students47%
Female49%
Male45%
Black26%
Asian63%
Hispanic53%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female93%
Male81%
Black82%
Asian95%
Hispanic88%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)52%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 15%
White 40% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Rices Mill Rd
Wyncote, PA 19095
Phone: (215) 881-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wyncote Academy
Wyncote, PA


New Media Technology Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Jenkintown High School
Jenkintown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT