Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Salle College High School

Private | 9-12 | 1066 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wyndmoor

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

Great school but I wish that there was more diversity, and that there was a little more religiousness. Otherwise excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2013

La Salle has a great feeling. We all get to know and respect each other. Our teachers support us and the administration does too. Glad I chose La Salle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2013

La Salle is special not only because of the great education you will receive, but because of it's intense sense of community. The faculty and administration are warm and mentoring and, by senior year, you will feel as though your classmates are your brothers. As an alumni, I have been back to campus and each time I'm impressed with the many improvements that have been made to the campus and curriculum. I would definitely recommend La Salle.


Posted January 27, 2013

Probably the best school in the state. If you go there, you will love it. It's not all about the education. It's also about the athletics, the service, the relationships with not only students, but with teachers, and all of the other extra-cirricular activities here. Amazing place. Athletic or not, everyone is treated as family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

As an alumnus, I can't be more proud of LaSalle College High School. Our graudates become leaders locally and nationally. The president of Temple's Medical School and LaSalle University were both class mates of mine. Ths school has the highest rated computer program in the state. When you graduate from LaSalle, you have joined a fraternity. I get 10 to 12 pieces of business each year from alumni and I have been out of LaSalle over 40 years. It's a great school when you are there and an enourmous network when you graduate.


Posted January 8, 2010

These past four years have been nothing but the best for me. I could not be happier with my situation now and my decision four years ago. Academically, I took the most challenging courses available and remained engaged and challenged still by regular courses. One highlight for me, especially over the last year, is the college counseling department. They guided me by the hand from the start of the college admissions process and remained by my side until the acceptance letters were in hand. I owe much of my acceptance to (and future attendance of) the University of Pennsylvania to them and the all-around excellent academic experience. Moreover, possibly the most amazing thing about my experience was the music department. As a bassist they kept me super involved and they run a program second to none
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2007

I absolutely believe that this school is one of the best high schools in the nation. Simply put, La Salle teaches you things that other schools do not and some(public schools) cannot. One clear distinction between La Salle and other schools is the it teaches young men not only academic and athletic aspects of life, which it does phenomenally but also places a strong emphasis on morals and discipline. La Salle provides a strong base to grow upon as a student and an environment where everyone has an equal opportunity to learn as long as they are willing to try because the teachers are certainly willing to help in any means possible. As the saying goes 'Boys will be boys, but La Salle boys will be gentlemen' I believe this motto holds true even today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

This is the best school ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2005

It's a very good school. It has everything. Teachers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2003

I owe La Salle much of my success and happiness in life. It has made me a better person, warmed my soul, and prepared me for one of the most difficult universities in the country -Princeton University. However, I am remiss to say it has been an institution on the decline, and in this past year I feel it has fallen nearly to shambles. Regarding its original mission -to provide a free education for young men, where they could live and learn, and grow into scholarly gentlemen -La Salle has begun to lose its way and in a few years will in no way resemble the proud institution that it once was. Because of unnecessary expenditures and poor uses of investment, La Salle is more expensive and more crowded than ever. Students pay at least 10% more than they used to 4 years ago for tuition and the price of most lunch food has doubled. Yet, at the same time, teachers are being paid less, and many of La Salle s greatest teachers and mentors have left to seek out greater salaries at public schools. La Salle s English department- its most outstanding department by far -just lost 5 of its best teachers over this past year. Its History department is deplorable, and worsening still. A strong Mathematics department is held together by two or three teachers nearing retirement age (and the end of their ropes). Its language department, like most language departments in the U.S., is very weak, despite a select group of masterful teachers. I, and most of my colleagues, place the blame most heavily upon the shoulders of the schools top administartors. La Salle was once a place where the morality of Christian practices and the ingenuity of its liberal thought came into a perfect harmony. This harmony gave the world great men. La Salle can be a place of such standards again... but I wouldn t count on it any time soon. And I say this as a past Salutatorian and one of the schools most out-spoken supporters.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Black 4% 15%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8605 West Cheltenham Avenue
Wyndmoor, PA 19038
Phone: (215) 233-2911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Crefeld School
Philadelphia, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT