Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Makefield El School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
We have two children in the school and have been thrilled with the teachers and resources that are available. We transferred in from a nearby school district and immediately noticed a difference in the level of interaction the teachers and principal offered to the students and parents. Their new math and reading programs are progressive and effective in my opinion. The teachers seem to be engaged with contemporary pedagogy and classroom techniques. Every classroom we've seen is equipped with computers, an overhead projector, and an extensive library of age appropriate fiction and nonfiction books. Some classrooms use desks, others use tables or group work-stations. I like that the teachers can determine the setup of their classroom based on student needs. I have noticed cross-discipline learning opportunities, so writing is taught alongside science or math; reading is integrated into social sciences, etc. Skills are taught at every step. The school has been renovated to be more green and there are numerous green-initiatives that students participate in--a garden, recycling projects, etc. The message is clear -- this school is part of this community both local and global.

Makefield El School 5

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
I have been very pleased with my experience at Makefield. The Principal & Teachers create an environment that is caring and student-centered. The PTO continues the welcoming atmosphere by being actively involved. This 'team' collaboration between principal, teachers, and parents has allowed Makefield to earn its high test scores.


Makefield El School 4

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
Makefield Elementary is a mixed bag with a good reputation. Makefield has a few great teachers, some poor ones and the average majority. Principal is active and visible, but doesn t actively seek feedback and glosses over some issues. Students residing in affluent surrounding neighborhoods are smart kids prepped to compete in and outside of school. PTO is active and runs constant fund-raisers; MESPTO financial/personnel support is expected by the teachers and administration. Makefield has reasonably good PSSA results, but has slipped recently relative to other district schools that have started prepping students. We agree that there may be a friendship cabal consisting of certain teachers and administrators to fill teaching vacancies, choose students for classes and activities, deal with school issues, etc. so it is best to watch what you say or else be prepared to face subtle recrimination from the insiders.

Makefield El School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Makefield Elementary has a special principal whose enthusiam and dedication permeates from the top down to teachers and staff that really care and cater to each child's individual needs.

Makefield El School 0
no rating

Posted March 04, 2010
- a community member
Agree w review of 11/11/06. Administration and staff we have dealt w are very unprofessional and unwilling/unable to accommodate for individual student needs.


Makefield El School 4

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
We have been very happy with Makefield, and our daughter has had wonderful teachers for 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade. She will begin 4th grade this fall (2009). The school has retained a smallish feel despite its almost 500-student population, and the teachers and administration are for the most part friendly and welcoming. They have some nice annual events (Octoberfest, International Night, art/author night) and a good art/music program. There is not enough homework and the class sizes are verging on too large (25-30 students/class). Pennsbury school district has far too many in-service days that are half-days and that completely disrupt the calendar. They also do not have a regular week-long spring break and instead have a mishmash of 1/2 days, making it impossible for families to take a week off without their child missing school.

Makefield El School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
great school with a great administration as well as caring and intelligent teachers! I've sent two children through this school and it's small town feel is welcoming and concerting. the principal always knew both my kids names and responded quickly to any small problems that occurred over the years. my child is in his last year there now and we will miss the school.

Makefield El School 5

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
Thanks to Makefield Elementary my son is a well prepared student. He is excelling in all subjects, is organized, and motivated. I owe all of this to the staff at Makefield. They rally around one another to make sure no child is left behind. Thank you to Makefield!


Makefield El School 5

Posted August 14, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Makefield El School 1

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Makefield El School
1939 Makefield Rd, Yardley, PA  19067
(215) 321-2420
Last modified Makefield El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Makefield El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top