Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Penn Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1026 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2014

This school is completely pathetic! The teachers are nice but some of them give way too much homework and its completely unacceptable! The school lunch is horrible and the pizza tasted like hand sanitizer! They need to give less homework, get bigger lockers for 7th and 8th grade, they need to have a better understanding of some students, and they need to be less strict when it comes to grades!


Posted August 20, 2013

Since my daughter started in William Penn her grades have started to slip as well as her self-confidence. She was a very high preforming student and did exceedingly well in school. There is no transparency when it comes to course placement and what courses are offered. I have been paid lip service by the counselors, teachers and the administration. I don t think they are capable of helping the students who are not in NJHS or lower preforming students. After meetings with the teachers, counselors and administration I never get a clear explanation about things like, why did you forget to administer a full day of Keystone exams and why are they still effecting her course placement? I have no confidence in the administration at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

I am going into eighth grade at William Penn. In the Pennsbury School District, William Penn is the only middle school with air conditioning in every room (very thankful for that). All of the teachers I have had are extremely caring and pay attention to every student. I am in Talent Pool Language arts and will be going into Algebra 1A. I get straight A's with help from my teachers. As a student, I highly recommend this school to any incoming students. Bullying is minimal. Very addressed as a punishable behavior. The guidance counselors are always there to talk to. Schedules are non-stressful and the school has a program where kids in regular classes can spend time with kids in the Intermediate Unit (kids with special needs and have disorders such as Autism). I participated in "Buddy Program" this year and enjoyed working with them. This school is of exemplary standards. During fire drills, everyone is out in under 2 minutes and the school has issued more security measures. Principal Meehan is a kind man who will help your child(ren) get the education they should. I hope you find this review helpful! :)


Posted April 26, 2009

i am in 6th grade and i think the amount of homework as well as the teachers are fantastic. is till get to see my friends, while still making learning my priority .
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

I am in 6th grade, and I LOVE it here! I'm in talentpool, which is an advanced reading and english class, and that's probably my favorite class! The classes here are challenging for those who are up tot eh challenge- for those who aren't up to the challenge, they are put in the easier classes. The teachers here are amazing as well. I've actully become friends with many of the teachers, and the way they teach is extraordinary. I am trying to appreciate my time here as much as I can, and any kid is lucky to go to William Penn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

I am an 8th grade student at this school. I find it very helpful with the way of education. Its only the 3rd week of school and i have already had 5 projects. It is very difficult sometimes. I am also in Talent Pool and right now, and it will be getting harder. At my old emelmentry school the Gifted classes were Social Studies and Science, my two best subjects, but when you get into middle shcool its Reading and English, they were my worst. It was a very hard ajustment and right now i am a little worried. I almost didnt make the honor roll last year because of Talent Pool and this year its even harder. I hope i make it. Overal it is a very nice school with minor problems. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

I am new to the area. My son and daughter are both enjoying the school. They love the teachers. My daughter get alot of extra help for her teachers. I am thrilled with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

Overall the school is excellent. Education is a priority and the work is challenging. Concerns: Ocassional lack of homework. Administration needs to focus on bullying, building confidence and self-esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

Excellent school! My daughter (7th grade) has had a wonderful experience thus far at William Penn and I am very pleased! With the exception of 1 teacher, I have found the teachers to be very caring (i.e., meeting with children at lunch time to help with studies, taking an interest in their lives, encouraging participation is school activities). I can't speak to the parent who commented that her child was functioning below grade level but strongly feel that the school would be responsive if a parent requested an IEP (Individualized Education Plan) for a child. I do believe that William Penn is preparing my child for the high school years. It is a great environment for the social, emotional and educational grooming of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Some teachers at Wm. Penn are non caring.They worry about what the students wear(if it's to short etc) then if they read or if the children are learning anything.My child is in 8th grade and reads on a 5- 6th grade level.I feel that she is pushed to the side all the time. And the counselors there are totally useless. I can't wait till she's out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

Middle school is a tough time for most children, they are caught between being children and being true adolecents. We have found that at William Penn the experience our child has had has varied greatly from year to year. Some of the teaching teams carefully guide the children toward self advocacy and responsibility while others use a heavy handed 'my way or the highway' approach. The administration worked with us to find the correct environment for our child moving forward, but was only moderately effective in dealing with the immediate pressures facing our student. Be sure as a parent that you are stay involved and constantly maintain contact with the educational team and your student. This will ensure a good middle school experience. Overall the experience has been good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

322 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

318 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

327 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

332 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male85%
Black67%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Black71%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)53%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)70%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male85%
Black58%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black75%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)76%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female71%
Male77%
Black58%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black60%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 15%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1524 Derbyshire Rd
Yardley, PA 19067
Phone: (215) 428-4280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Valley Day School
Morrisville, PA


Calvary Christian School
Fairless Hills, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT