Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Hope Academy

Private | 7-12 | 98 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yardley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

My daughter went there for 4 years. My daughter was always smart but when she got into middle school she went into a deep depression and could barely pass even though she was capable of getting honors. Her mental state was holding her behind. NHA nurtured her back and she passed with flying colors. People are saying not there true grade it was for my daughter. She also did well on her SAT test and received scholarships. No school is perfect or ever will be but I aM thankful for NHA if it wasn't for them I don't where my daughter would be today. I am going to Miss the staff there. Also to teach in any private or charter special ed you don't have to be certified
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

I found it very difficult to work with the administration. In the end, for them it was all about how much money they could get out of us. It was a very unpleasant experience. Be cautious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

New Hope Academy is right in our township, but is the best kept secret in Lower Makefield (Yardley, PA). We had a hard time finding a school that fit our daughter s needs. Then we found New Hope Academy. Our daughter has never been happier. It has everything the other schools have to offer, but so much more. Classes that are either one-on-one, or very small groups. Parents learn at New Hope Academy as well. There are monthly parent meetings that keep the parents up to date with what is going on in the school, but we also learn different techniques to help raise our teenagers, that makes our lives easier and our child s lives better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Our child graduated May 2013 and supposedly "met all the requirements to graduate" with inflated grades. When he took his placement test ay BCCC for English/Reading he was substandard for college courses and has to take a "below college course" in reading and English. NHA gave him an "A". He was privately placed! His teachers seemed to care, but not about his true abilities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Don't come here. Most children do not progress emotionally, and of those 90% that go to college, only 3 or so a class are going to a four year one (and usually ones that aren't very good). Most of the success stories are only there for a short period of time, so NHA isn't what helped them. The teachers aren't special ed certified, and grades are fudged (most children get Bs and do no work at all). If your child is smart, this is the worst school to go to. They're reluctant to place children in challenging classes and actively fight against meeting their academic potential. They'll tout some name brand colleges, but if you ask the students going there, they'll say how huge of a mistake NHA was and that the school isn't why they succeeded in life. They also love kicking kids out for trivial reasons.


Posted June 16, 2011

Clearly, these reviews are from the staff at NHA. This school cares more about the revenue and not the well being of your child. I would advise parents to request for the education backgrounds and experience levels of the teachers that will be spending time with your child on a daily basis.


Posted March 16, 2010

If you want a place where your child is respected, nurtured and inspired, this is it. You will find an assortment of every type of child here. But that is what makes New Hope special. It puts kids from all walks of life together, much like the real world, in an atmosphere that appears more like an office than an institution, which makes the reason for learning that much more real. The music department is wonderful... I couldn't imagine my daughter who has played the violin for 6 years going back to clanging cymbals at the local public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

New Hope lives up to its name. It truly individualizes education based on your child's needs. It has 'state of the art' ...everything. More importantly, it has a committed staff, who truly invest themselves in your child's growth. Our son still struggles, but has begun to flourish there, He has especially enjoyed chess and yoga, but there are opportunities to act or play music, just to name a few possibilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

My son attended NHA for 4 years. What a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

i achually attend nha. and i love it. i cant tell you how much i have learned, since i have been there- and its only been a couple months. I feel as if the 2 years that i was in public school were just wasted becuase i didnt learn anything. At nha i feel like all the teachers are your friend, there alwasy there for you, and you can tell how loyal they are. this is a great school, and for anyone that is struggling in public school, and might need a little extra attention in some areas, nha is the right place for you. i love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2006

My HS daughter goes here and loves it. lots of 1 on 1 attention. Kids range from ADD to very gifted and needing more than what public school can give. They match the child's ability with the work load. Lots of performing arts classes. Create your own curriculum (with in the state of PA's laws) A school social worker is there to work with kids on socialization issues. you, as a parent are seen as part of your child's school experience. as such are expected to attend a meeting each month PTA style with all the other parents which most parents participate in. very approachable staff they look out for each child's needs. small class room (2 students to each teacher.)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Black 7% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Oxford Valley Rd Bldg 1701
Yardley, PA 19067
Phone: (215) 493-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Hope Academy
Yardley, PA






St. Frances Cabrini School
Fairless Hills, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT