Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

York Co School Of Technology

Public | 9-12 | 1559 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2014

I'm in the adult education part , everyone is professional and treat you as a person and not as a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

This school has incredible technical programs and academics are on the rise (ever so slowly) however the violation of student rights by the staff here is so awful that I see it almost every day and have been a victim of it many times. Some teachers try to detain students in detention merely for not doing homework, nothing illegal is going on but they are as close to the edge as you can get with rights violation as I have ever seen in my life anywhere. School should not feel like an unconstitutional checkpoint at any point in time but it is commonplace at YCST. Bottom line: go to the school to get your technical certifications it's not bad, but be ready for a bumpy ride!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2010

This is my son's first year at the school. He came from Dallastown. We bothe knew it was going to be the polar opposite, I just had no idea that I would shed tears. I won't go into details of what we are going through right now. Since the beginning of this year, I left a total of 26 messages with myt son's shop principal yet I have only been able to speak to her on the phone 3-4 times. I think that they should never complain about parent involvment again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school has given my daughter a great education. She is a Senior this year and on the Honor Roll; she is in the Electric Field. I t is great that if the child doesn't like the field he/she has chose can be changed @ least once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

there's alot wrong with this school. materials are extremely outdated!! this needs to be inspected b the state


Posted April 13, 2008

I am currently a freshman at school here. I like most of my teachers, but some of them don't even help you, one of my teachers gives us reviews and just tells us to do them and makes us watch movies, then just gives us a test and expects us to know it. All the other teachers I have help you but this teacher will just tell you to do it. I am very good in school but have a horrible grade in that class, it makes me angry, because I want to do good in school so I can excel and when I get my report cards with that grade on them I feel like I can't. Also with all the people that come into this school being so different there is alot of fights, it honestly scares me to say anything to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2007

I attended this school from 9-12 grade. I was extremly satisfied in my education in my shop(Graphic Arts) and my academics. I have now pursued my career, and I am now a susseful Graphic Artist.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2006

This is my 3rd year in York County School of Technology. Overall, I am pretty disappointed with this school. Most of the material is outdated, including some the material used in the technical programs. The recent construction on the school looks very nice. As far as academics go, I'm not impressed. Some of the teachers just throw materials at you and then give you worksheets. Some of the teachers are teaching subjects outside of what they are qualified to teach. They are now trying to implement a new dress code. They are changing rules all the time which makes things very confusing. This school is very unorganized and I only hope it gets better because I doubt it can get any worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

This is my son's first year at York County School of Technology as a ninth grader. My first impression, unfortunately has not been a very good one. There seems to be a lot of disorganization with the curriculum and the present rotation schedule they have in place is very confusing to both students and parents alike. Currently, my son is in an afterschool program initiated by the 'No Child Left Behind' federal program implemented by President George W. Bush, Jr. This program, according to my son is not adequately preparing him for the PSSA test that it is intended for. Both my son and I are very disappointed in the current structure and academics of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
21%

2009

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female36%
Male43%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multi-ethnic39%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female42%
Male40%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multi-ethnic47%
White43%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students19%
Female9%
Male27%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic4%
Multi-ethnic18%
White25%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female84%
Male67%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnic67%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 71%
Hispanic 15% 9%
Black 12% 15%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
  • Vocational education
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2179 South Queen St
York, PA 17402
Phone: (717) 741-0820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT