Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Penn Senior High School

Public | 7-12 | 993 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2013

I attend at this school and I really like it.. I came from York Suburban and that thing was like a nightmare. Teachers In York High are very pleasant, and lots of help to offer. Once you get to know all the school, everyone in there and earn the teachers love, you'll be FINE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a city school and my daughter, nephew, stepson, myself and brothers received an excellent education while attending. Each of us are all educated professionals where we built our foundation at York High. We are accountants, lawyers, policemen, correctional officers, nurses; you don't have to be a suburban school student to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Hello! I am a student at this 'school'. its an okay school other then the rude hall Montiars, Disrespectful childern, and barley any sport surrport. We dont have any kind of extra culiair clubs. The school must think that nobody is going to a college so they dont offer us anything. i think we need more studnets from outside York city to change the school and get us more things that we need. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

Whomever previously rated this school three to four stars, either have never had an interaction with this school or they do not have kids that attend. I moved here from New York assuming that my child would have a smaller school environment and a better teacher/student ratio, but to my horror, this has been the worst experience and disappointment that I have ever had with any school system. This school rightfully rated a 1 out of 10 and I think it only received a 1 because a zero was not an available option! I can't wait to get my child away from this school. The bottom line is research carefully before choosing a school. So I will return to New York and take my chances there.. it can't be any worse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

the teachers are on top of thing this year and my son is getting more out of school this year thank you myers the mother of richard weary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I believe William Penn is a great school and it helps prepare students for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

William Penn is an awesome school with a rockin hot band!!!!That has great parent involvement.It is a very comfortable environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2008

I go to York High. We do lack on some of th most essential things but we make up for it in other areas
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

William penn senior high is such a great school! It has a great mix of people who go there. It has a huge swimming pool,gym,weight room,(school period).I love it there and u should send ur kid there.I would totaly recomend this school.The only thing I dont like about it is that the school has no buses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2005

This is a great school for all the programs and things that they offer! Also it's a diverse area and really not half as bad as people make it out to be! I know that I'm a better person because of this school, it's soo much better than the 'typical white school' and I'm a white kid! I woldn't want my highschool career anywhere else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2004

William Penn Senior High school is an outstanding school that has the potential to be number one. They have excellent hall moniters and around the clock school security. The staff is excellent and the kids have major potential.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
14%

2009

 
 
10%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female37%
Male31%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female43%
Male27%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students11%
Female5%
Male17%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students44%
Female47%
Male41%
Black51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 15%
Hispanic 35% 9%
White 16% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 West College Ave
York, PA 17403
Phone: (717) 849-1218

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Logos Academy
York, PA


Logos Academy
York, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT