Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Penn Senior High School 3

Posted April 23, 2015
- a teacher
The staff here really care about their students. We put in extra hours and really try to make a difference. I myself run a free club for students after school, and have used as many best practices to help student engagement and learning. While working here I have seen the entire furlough process happen and in that time we have lost a lot of good teachers and principals. Those of us that are still in the building also have seen first hand what those cuts have done to not only the education but the environment of the building. We need to bring back programs we used to have, baseball, swimming, more art classes, home economics and maybe even some shop classes to get students excited and involved in their great Bearcat school!

William Penn Senior High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a student
I attend at this school and I really like it.. I came from York Suburban and that thing was like a nightmare. Teachers In York High are very pleasant, and lots of help to offer. Once you get to know all the school, everyone in there and earn the teachers love, you'll be FINE.


William Penn Senior High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It is a city school and my daughter, nephew, stepson, myself and brothers received an excellent education while attending. Each of us are all educated professionals where we built our foundation at York High. We are accountants, lawyers, policemen, correctional officers, nurses; you don't have to be a suburban school student to be successful.

William Penn Senior High School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
Hello! I am a student at this 'school'. its an okay school other then the rude hall Montiars, Disrespectful childern, and barley any sport surrport. We dont have any kind of extra culiair clubs. The school must think that nobody is going to a college so they dont offer us anything. i think we need more studnets from outside York city to change the school and get us more things that we need. :)

William Penn Senior High School 1

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
Whomever previously rated this school three to four stars, either have never had an interaction with this school or they do not have kids that attend. I moved here from New York assuming that my child would have a smaller school environment and a better teacher/student ratio, but to my horror, this has been the worst experience and disappointment that I have ever had with any school system. This school rightfully rated a 1 out of 10 and I think it only received a 1 because a zero was not an available option! I can't wait to get my child away from this school. The bottom line is research carefully before choosing a school. So I will return to New York and take my chances there.. it can't be any worse!


William Penn Senior High School
no rating

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
the teachers are on top of thing this year and my son is getting more out of school this year thank you myers the mother of richard weary

William Penn Senior High School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
I believe William Penn is a great school and it helps prepare students for the real world.

William Penn Senior High School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a student
William Penn is an awesome school with a rockin hot band!!!!That has great parent involvement.It is a very comfortable environment.


William Penn Senior High School 4

Posted February 07, 2008
- a student
I go to York High. We do lack on some of th most essential things but we make up for it in other areas

William Penn Senior High School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a student
William penn senior high is such a great school! It has a great mix of people who go there. It has a huge swimming pool,gym,weight room,(school period).I love it there and u should send ur kid there.I would totaly recomend this school.The only thing I dont like about it is that the school has no buses.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Penn Senior High School
101 West College Ave, York, PA  17403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (717) 849-1218
Last modified William Penn Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top