Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
York, PA
Students enrolled: 670
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


York Suburban Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
Make sure you supervise your child on Chromebooks if you care about web browsing because there are no controls that make sure they are on yssd.org only when at home.

York Suburban Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
The schools policy on the use of the Chromebooks encourages violence, disrespect, and wasting of your child's mind due to lack of supervised Internet browsing on and off school grounds. They are exposed to whatever is out there and main study content is on Chromebooks for 8th graders.


York Suburban Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
Most teachers are great and teach at an age appropriate level but the use of Chromebooks and the administrations decisions on a school and district level make it hard to be a good concerned parent.

York Suburban Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
They allow for ignorance, bullying, and unsupervised Internet use. Most teachers are great but the administration and polices are not good for your child. Try Dallastown or Central schools first.

York Suburban Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
They are all about control and appearances. They do not care for concerned parents who feel the schools decisions are not in the child's best interest. They just want to shut you up so you go away.


York Suburban Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
Great Job. We are very happy with everything.

York Suburban Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a student
This is one of the best schools I have ever been to. It chalenges you, but not to the point that your overwhelmed and the staff and students are the best people in the world

York Suburban Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
my child hated it here her grades slipped here and she became emotionally unstable


York Suburban Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
this school does not live up to its excpectations, If you are coming from maryland or new york I would not recommend this school many teachers lie and don't help the children. :(

York Suburban Middle School 5

Posted March 02, 2008
- a student
YSMS is awesome to the fullest, and is one of the best things in my life. I learn a lot and have a blast at the same time. In my opinion YSMS is the best middle school in the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

York Suburban Middle School
455 Sundale Dr, York, PA  17402
(717) 885-1260
Last modified York Suburban Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
York Suburban Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top