Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Patrick School

Private | PK-6 | 161 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in York

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $45,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2014

St. Patrick School has a warm, caring environment that makes it a great place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2014

St. Patrick School has been a wonderful place for my children! They are receiving a top notch education. I have been quite pleased with all of their teachers as they have moved on up through the years. The school has recently had a change in leadership that I feel will be great for the school and for all of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

While my daughter attended this school she dealt with many issues concerning bullying. She also wasn't being challenged. When I transferred her to public school, she was put in the gifted program and made many good friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

I cannot say enough about how happy my husband and I are that we found this gem of a school right in York city. We have been pleased with the high academic standards of St. Pat's and the guidance and leadership shown by teachers, administration and students themselves. Our daughter is enrolled in the PreK program and her teacher noticed that she was beginning to show all of the readiness signs of pre-reading. Her teacher sat down with us and planned out a program to start preparing her to be a reader and it is working brilliantly. I cannot speak for other preschool programs, or other schools, but the individual care has shown us that this was the best decision we could have made. Choose St. Patrick's Catholic School and you will be amazed at how much your child loves being a part of a great learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

This school provides Catholic education at its finest! I am a graduate of St. Patrick Catholic School and our family is very happy with the academic preparation our two daughters are receiving. The principal, faculty and staff work cohesively to model virtues to every student. We couldn't be more blessed to be a part of the St. Patrick School Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Unfortunately, St. Patrick School was a disappointment. There has been so much turnover and inconsistency from the teachers to the principals. The current principal is very cliquish - she knows who has the money and is looking for support for a failing school financially and educationally. There are superb teachers in the school, but the ones that lack really pull down the reputation. I truly believe that St. Patrick School should be planning their future differently. Enrollment is down but the principal doesn't ask or care why families are leaving. Assumes it is the economy but the parents communicate with each other and there are a lot of complaints. When issues are brought up with administration, the ears are turned the other way.


Posted August 29, 2007

My second child is almost finished with St. Patricks. My third will definitely go there. I have been extrememly happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

All children are not treated with the same dignity and respect. Alot of favoritism goes on here. Cliques. Poor communication between administration and teachers-the left side does not appear to know what the right side is doing. Phone calls and messages left for teachers are not answered. Principal does not follow through with commitments made. Many excuses and blaming others among school staff. There are several organizational problems at this school. It failed my child miserably. Remember that everything that glimmers isn't gold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

This is our 3rd year at St. Patrick's and we've been very happy with our child's education. The families are all helpful and friendly. Our child enjoys going to school and likes learning new things. We're happy with our choice of St. Patrick's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

This is my first year at St. Patrick School and I am satisfied for the most part. The school is restructuring this year and we will have a new principal which is a good thing. The school environment was not what I had hoped last year. Moral was low and smiles were scarce. I have heard mixed reviews regarding the new principal so I am keeping my fingers crossed. Academically, I was pleased and my child did well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I have two kids currently at St. Pat's and they receive great education. I feel very safe when they are in school and I know they receive a high level of discipline. The teachers and the Principal are very concerned about the student's future and they prepare them at a high education level. St. Patrick is a great family where GOD is our center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This school is a blessing. I am very pleased with the education, both academic and spiritual, my daughter is receiving. She is being prepared for high school, college and, more importantly, life! The staff is wonderful and truly care about each individual child. The principal even knows every child's name. To me, that is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 71%
Two or more races 14% 2%
Hispanic 11% 9%
Black 10% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Harrisburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 South Beaver Street
York, PA 17401
Phone: (717) 854-8263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Logos Academy
York, PA


Logos Academy
York, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT