Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
212 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


York Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
They teach "Golden Rule" here!!! Granddaughter is very sensitive to others and her world around her.

York Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
This concept is fostered in all grades. Taking personal responsibility for oneself and student's peers certainly has had an impact on granddaughter's school and home environment.


York Country Day School 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My granddaughter has been attending this school since age 3, I cannot imagine her going anywhere else. Her education and support of thereof has been wonderful. The teachers and staff here really care about the student AND his/her family.

York Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
With more than half of the teachers having advanced degrees, the classes being kept much smaller than the national average and continuing education for the teachers as well...YCDS teachers are absolutely effective.

York Country Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Students have intense studies within school hours that supports not only their education, but also the well-rounded development of each student. This well-rounded development includes the real-life experiences and interactions that only occur while with family and within the community. For this reason, it is my belief that the homework is assigned within reason.


York Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
YCDS students are encouraged to reach outside of their comfort zone with determination and open minds. They are supported in taking on new endeavors with enthusiasm and wonder, resulting in self-confidence as they grow.

York Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
The students at YCDS are prepping for college. Therefore, from the first day at YCDS, they are taught to present themselves as professionals, respecting others and the experiences/knowledge that others have to share.

York Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Students at YCDS are taught to be responsible, active citizens within their communities and compassion, caring and empathy are very important in being such.


York Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Values such as honesty, integrity and fairness are promoted and developed daily at YCDS through the many experiences each student has while attending here.

York Country Day School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at YCDS since preschool and will be entering 4th grade next year. She is supported and challenged in all aspects. The faculty and staff are awesome and innovative in their approach that promotes the love for learning. My child is confident and comfortable in taking on new experiences. The academic level is top notch and students consistently achieve far above average SAT scores. They are encouraged to reach out past themselves and are taught to be constructive, active members of their community. One thing that I clearly remember from my initial visit to the school, is that not ONE student that I passed in the hallway wasn't happy there and they gave off the vibe that they were fully engaged in their education. I was very impressed then and remain as such. I look forward to my daughter's development as she moves up through middle school and upper school as I know she will be fully prepared to excel in her endeavors thanks to YCDS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

York Country Day School
1071 Regents Glen Boulevard, York, PA  17403
(717) 843-9805
Last modified York Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
York Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top