Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


York Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
With more than half of the teachers having advanced degrees, the classes being kept much smaller than the national average and continuing education for the teachers as well...YCDS teachers are absolutely effective.

York Country Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Students have intense studies within school hours that supports not only their education, but also the well-rounded development of each student. This well-rounded development includes the real-life experiences and interactions that only occur while with family and within the community. For this reason, it is my belief that the homework is assigned within reason.


York Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
YCDS students are encouraged to reach outside of their comfort zone with determination and open minds. They are supported in taking on new endeavors with enthusiasm and wonder, resulting in self-confidence as they grow.

York Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
The students at YCDS are prepping for college. Therefore, from the first day at YCDS, they are taught to present themselves as professionals, respecting others and the experiences/knowledge that others have to share.

York Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Students at YCDS are taught to be responsible, active citizens within their communities and compassion, caring and empathy are very important in being such.


York Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Values such as honesty, integrity and fairness are promoted and developed daily at YCDS through the many experiences each student has while attending here.

York Country Day School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at YCDS since preschool and will be entering 4th grade next year. She is supported and challenged in all aspects. The faculty and staff are awesome and innovative in their approach that promotes the love for learning. My child is confident and comfortable in taking on new experiences. The academic level is top notch and students consistently achieve far above average SAT scores. They are encouraged to reach out past themselves and are taught to be constructive, active members of their community. One thing that I clearly remember from my initial visit to the school, is that not ONE student that I passed in the hallway wasn't happy there and they gave off the vibe that they were fully engaged in their education. I was very impressed then and remain as such. I look forward to my daughter's development as she moves up through middle school and upper school as I know she will be fully prepared to excel in her endeavors thanks to YCDS.

York Country Day School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
My 15 year-old son spent5 months as an exchange student from Germany at YCDS. He loved this school, the teachers ,the other students .....! They all did a fantastic job . Thank you so much !


York Country Day School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
Our High School son can take any class at York College. He loves his teachers and coaches. He can't wait to get to school each day.

York Country Day School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
YCDS is a great school. All of the kids are involved in arts and sports and do well academically. There are grads at Swathmore, Johns Hopkins, Georgetown, Tufts, Colby this list goes on. Our Junior loves it. The teachers are great the other kids are smart and hard working. We just can't say enough great things about the school. They don't like to brag but the average SAT is over 1800... the best in county by a ton.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

York Country Day School
1071 Regents Glen Boulevard, York, PA  17403
(717) 843-9805
Last modified York Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
York Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top