Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central York Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 905 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

Central Middle School is a great school! Love the leadership and teacher involvement! I'm glad that we picked this school district for my son because he has done well here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

i go to this school and it has a great learning facility. the faculty is very good, and goals are excillent. We are very focused on suceeding in learning, and reading is very important as well as funraisers. We have a large music program and are curently strengthening our bullying program!!! <3CYMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Central York Middle School is a fantastic place to learn, with excellent teachers and a lively student body!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

This school is now 7-8 grade and has terrific teachers who help and encourage you. I never want to leave this school. It is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

I love this school its fun and we do many actiovities and other fun things. Also as a 7th grade student I think the teachers are really nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2005

I am impressed with the way Central involves parents and the community in the education of the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

I am not at all impressed with this school at all. They have no learning support and seem to just push kids thru even when they are not performing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

This school has been in chaos for the past few years. Hopefully with the change in school administration, discipline will improve and teachers will be able to work with less stress. It such a shame to see how the children have suffered as the problem students have taken over the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2005

As the single mother of an 8th grade student who suffers from a diagnosis of 'off-the-charts' ADHD, I have been frustrated with the interaction I have with my daughter's teachers. I have contacted them several times regarding her struggles and offered to do whatever they thought necessary in order to help her get a quality education. To be fair, they generally respond to the initial e-mail but fail to follow up with continuing information. When 2nd marking period report cards were issued recently, my daughter received 3 Fs and is now in danger of failing 8th grade. My frustration stems from the fact that I have been asking over and over again for guidance but communication from her teachers has been minimal. Thank goodness for the Assistant Principal (Mr. McManama) who has offered to step in and help guide my daughter the rest of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

My eldest son started Central in the middle of 7th grade. He was placed in a regular math class having come from advanced math at a nearby school. He was never tested and was told that all classes were heterogenious...not so. He was forced to stay in that class even though he was initially told they would review his records and move him to high math if he maintained A's. He maintained an A average all year and was again placed in regular math in the 8th grade. We have had to fuss and fight to get him where he needs to be. I feel like he was failed by guidance and his teacher. We are hoping to have better luck in the high school. My advice, stay on top of things because the school doesn't. There seems to be alot of bullying too. We are thinking private may be the answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I am very disappointed in the middle school. We moved here in the middle of my son's 6th grade and the guidance teacher just dropped him in a class and did not follow up with him at all. We did not even receive the school handbook with all the rules, etc. when we registered our son! 7th grade was much better The team of teachers cared and constantly stayed in touch with the parents. In 8th grade, my son is have great difficulties and no word from the teachers whose class he has failed. The guidance teacher, who is supposed to be alerted to a student going from above average to failing within a semseter wasn't notified and it has been a week since 4 messages were left to have a return call. Unfortunately, I feel Central lets too many kids fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

I've been at Central York Middle School for three years. And in those three years, I have found that all of my teachers and other school personalities are the best!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

378 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

442 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

444 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

440 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

444 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black73%
Asian100%
Hispanic66%
Multi-ethnic77%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black73%
Asian94%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnic73%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black82%
Asian83%
Hispanic95%
Multi-ethnic93%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black88%
Asian72%
Hispanic89%
Multi-ethnic89%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)62%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
Black52%
Asian53%
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnic48%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female92%
Male74%
Black77%
Asian82%
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnic82%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Black 8% 15%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 North Hills Rd
York, PA 17406
Phone: (717) 846-6789

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Logos Academy
York, PA


Logos Academy
York, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT