Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ore Valley El School

Public | K-3 | 558 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

My child went to this school for kindergarten. I am so happy the first year of school was at this school. They were great. The teacher was very nurturing, loving & involved with her class & the parents. I felt the teacher & school cared deeply about the student's academics & well being. The school always involved the parents & felt I knew what was going on with my child at all times. I miss the school & we are now looking for a new home back in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

This district heading down hill fast and we have the PSSA ranking to prove it. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

When my family and I moved to York, PA nine years ago, from NYC, we wanted a safe hometown, atmosphere for our two young sons. We soon discovered that we were fortunate be a part of the Dallastown Area Schools family. Ore Valley Elementary being one of schools that serviced my area, became an integral part of my children, and extended family's lives. From my experience, Ore Valley is has taken great strides to become one of the most successful elementary schools in York County. This school's academic program and extracurricular activities has succeeded in reaching learners of all learning levels, cultural background, and ethnicity. The teachers, and administration take pride in producing a well-rounded curriculum that reflects the needs of the growing diverse community it serves. Ore Valley will always be home to five very successful students in my family. Two of which are currently attending Ore Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Student teacher ratio 18:1. Out of school programs good. Summer enrichment camps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Ore Valley is a wonderful elementary school. We moved to this district from western PA approximately two years ago, it was the summer before my son started third grade. The school district and teachers have met and exceeded our expectations. Our son has a speech language processing disorder which they discovered and he is now receiving special education. Our previous district failed to recognize this and we felt he just wasn't getting the education he needed. Through Ore Valley's learning support program, he is now earning all A's & B's and abosolutely loves going to school! There is plenty of opportunities for extracurricular activities such as after school intramurals. The specials such as art, music, gym and computer class are my son's favorite. He is receiving a first class education at Ore Valley. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

My children were new to this school 2 years ago. I was very impressed at how involved and caring the teachers were. My daughters 3rd grade teacher, Mr Miller was wonderful. I feel the security at the school is top notch as well.


Posted May 31, 2003

Our son was new to the school and we were very pleased. He attended a private school and we had some doubt about our decision. After the first day we wished that he would have started him at this school from the beginning. The teachers are terrfic and the school is a great place for elementary students.Very safe.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female90%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 71%
Hispanic 9% 9%
Black 5% 15%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2620 Springwood Rd
York, PA 17402
Phone: (717) 505-5051

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dallastown El School
Dallastown, PA


St Joseph School
Dallastown, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT