Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Barrington Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 9 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Barrington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $369,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

Barrington Christian Academy is a wonderful school for our children. They have both excelled in the academically challenging environment that BCA offers. Classmates treat one another as family. Teachers are great role models and let each student know that they are special and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

I can say enough about how much our family loves this school. My son was labeled a "problem child" in Pre-K at his previous private school. We enrolled him at BCA for Kindergarten (and subsequently 1st grade) and he has flourished in this environment. With the small class size, teachers who take the time to cater to the individual needs of each student, and an administration with an open communication policy, this school is really a gem. They have great facilities, enrichment programs like computers, music, and spanish, recess 2 times a day and PE 2 times a week, which helps high energy kids regroup and focus on the work while in the classroom. We live in Providence and the RI school bus system provides transport to and from our house, which is a huge plus. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

BCA is more than just a school, it is community of talented and extremely devoted educators who have made it their mission to not only educate the mind but also nurture the soul of our children by providing them with a strong Christian foundation. At BCA students are encouraged to use their God given talents to better themselves and their community. BCA is a second home for my daughter who is entering her senior year of high school. She has been blessed with wonderful role models who truly care about each student. It is a place where children can pray for others during devotions and learn about ministries throughout the world during weekly chapel. The quality of the education at BCA is also top notch and students of all academic levels will find the work challenging. The high school is continually striving to add more extracurricular activities for the students but more importantly they strive to build a student body that is respectful of one another and ready to work hard giving back to the community and working hard as responsible members of society
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

With good-natured humor and support, the middle school teachers taught our son learn how to organize himself. Now he can reach his full potential academically as well as have a positive attitude toward school. We liked the BCA environment so much that now we have both of our kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

Words to describe BCA: Faith-based, merciful, challenging, accepting, stretching, nurturing, friendly, individual as well as community focused. Come to BCA and discover your gifts and how they can be used for God's Kingdom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

BCA has a great balance of strong Christian values with Academic excellence. They prepare the student based on a solid Christian foundation to excel and function in a world that is diverse. The leadership and faculty take a great interest in each student to see that God given talents are nurtured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

My two children attend BCA. My daughter started in 4th grade and my son in 8th. Their experiences at the school have been nothg but positive! They felt welcomed and immediately joined in to school activities. From student council, to sports, to choir, to missions' trips, the school has help shape my children into well rounded young adults. The teachers care and know each child. They want each student to succeed and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure success. While academics are important, the staff also cares about each students' spiritual well- being. BCA has so much to offer! We feel that the money we have invested in our children's lives has been well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

I never give 5 stars on any survey so please don't consider my 4 star rating as a negative. I agreed to send our our kids to private school reluctantly over a decade ago and now can't think of anywhere else I'd rather send them. We have 3 children that have been in the school since kindergarten and our oldest is now in second year of high school. So, we've seen the entire spectrum of classes and teachers and curriculum. We are VERY happy with the school and its teachers and administrators. They are all sincerely interested in giving students a great, vibrant learning experience that prepares them for life in the world. It's an investment in our childrens' future which we believe is well worth it; especiallly in the early formative years. Plenty of opportunties for parents to be involved if they choose. Teachers are well qualified. Very pleasant environment. High school seems like a solid college prep program which is highly valued by us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

We have been at Barrington Christian Academy with our two younger sons for 10 years after earlier experiences with a different christian school and public high school (BCA did not have the high school at the time) with our two older sons. We are very thankful that God led us to BCA! Our family has thrived at BCA. Our sons have been getting a great education; the one who graduated from BCA was accepted by the college of his choice and has done well there because he was so well prepared. They have grown spiritually through the Godly leadership & teaching at the school, chapel services and missions trips. They have also grown socially through the relationships they've built and by getting to know international students who bring a positive cultural diversity to the school community. Finally, because the athletic program has grown and developed; our sons have had the opportunity to experience athletics in a positive, Christian environment which has only added to the positive BCA experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Our daughter entered Barrington Christian Academy in 2013 as a High School Junior. Her experience at BCA was amazing from her very first visit. The students and faculty welcomed her with open arms and hearts. Even though she had some health issues during the year, she received the support she needed from the teachers and was able to finish her Junior year. She can't wait to start her Senior year in the fall. The school activities and parental involvement were outstanding and contributes greatly to the sense of community we see at BCA. We highly recommend this school to anyone who is searching for a high quality learning experience & and a loving, nurturing environment for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

I can't say enough great things about BCA. I am so blessed that my 3 children have been able to experience BCA. It is a school that you feel safe sending your children to, and you know they are being loved and nurtured by teachers who truly care about them. The academics are excellent and the Christian values are aligned with ours, but most importantly BCA has helped bring our children closer to God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

We have had our kids at BCA for 11 years and each year that goes by feel ever stronger that we made one of the best decisions of our lives. BCA provides an academically challenging environment with incredible one on one attention for each student. As parents, we have been welcomed and have been encouraged from day one to continue to be involved. I highly recommend Barrington Christian Academy. It is what every parent hopes the education of their children will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

BCA has been the best decison we have made as a family. Continual assessment of best practices in curriculum and teaching, loving, safe atmosphere for all. Wouldn't consider another school, ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Barrington Christian Academy has been a perfect match for our son. He started in the middle school and now attends the High School. He is receiving a great education, surrounded by wonderful caring talented christian teachers. This is a school where everyone knows your name and they each take you under their wing to nurture, teach and love and then help you soar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Barrington Christian Academy has been an answer to prayer for our family. My ADHD son does well in the small class size and the teachers are so involved and caring...it is like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Barrington Christian Academy is a fantastic school from academics to athletics. There is also more emphasis on arts, music and languages from Kindergarten to high school. My children are thriving there with the overwhelming love and encouragement from all the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Barrington Christian Academy is a school where the students feel comfortable to be themselves. The education is excellent and the teachers truly care. BCA is the best school I could ever go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

BCA is an excellent school in every sense. They have a strong Christian curriculum paired with strong, developmentally appropriate academics. The administrators to the office staff, and faculty all have a genuine care for the children and parents. My children have flourished there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 64%
Black 7% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Hispanic 4% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI; NEASC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Old County Road
Barrington, RI 02806
Phone: (401) 246-0113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Primrose Hill School
Barrington, RI



Waddington School
Riverside, RI


Hampden Meadows School
Barrington, RI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT