Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackrock School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Our most memorable teachers were Mrs. Leyden, Mrs. Cohn, Mrs. Romano, Mrs. Mataresse, Mrs. Poole and the wonderful office staff :)

Blackrock School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
The school's BEE expectations are great models for the students and teachers...they use and show & model respect & learning to the students and each other every day.


Blackrock School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Blackrock teachers and admin are wonderful! They truly care about all their students and put the kids' needs, education and concerns first! My kids attended for 7 years and we loved every teacher. It might not be fancy from the outside - but they are fixing that - but it is great on the inside and everyone is doing great! We love Blackrock!

Blackrock School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
In reply to another comment on this page...The school has entered the digital age. The library doesn't look like clothes closet. The school website is wonderful and easy to use and informative! And there's a reason why the names / class lists are on the window. "From what I understand, they do that to cause less conflict with students wanting another teacher or parents wanting another. It is done late and in the window as well because sometimes thy get an over flow or children move! Sherri O

Blackrock School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers are all welcoming and friendly to everyone and they supply the students with a wonderful education. My children love going to school and get upset when they get sick. The teachers go the extra mile for their students, this is not seen everywhere and it should be. The teachers and school are like a second family to our children and our children need to know that they are cared about. Every child is cared about at Blackrock. The school offers many cultural arts events and have many physical activities for the students. The teachers help all students so that if you are one whom is having a difficult time learning or one that is excelling, you will get the extra support that is needed. Blackrock is a wonderful and great school.


Blackrock School 3

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Friendly and "homey" but not a leader in its field. Doesn't appear as though this school has entered into the digital age. The library is a converted clothes closet. The school website is below average. Teacher/School communication still relies on paper (for example, the assigned teacher list at the beginning of the year was taped to the school window, not posted on a website or emailed to parents).

Blackrock School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
We love Blackrock School because it is school full of love, education, and care for the the people around you.

Blackrock School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
There was one very special teacher there that helped my daughter and if it wasn't for her my daughter would not be going into her 3nd year of collage. Mrs Jankowski went above and beyond her teaching duty. She in my eyes should be a role model for all teachers. She was my daughters 4th grade teacher and mentor in middle school up to high school. If all schools could have teachers like her, there would never be a kid that would drop out of school. All kids all over would graduate and become something. So thank you Blackrock for having such a wonderful teacher!


Blackrock School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended this school since 2007. He is in the preschool program. I have had a great experience with his teacher Mrs Cohn and with the principal. He also has a gross motor delay and the pt and ot staff are great. Aidan loves to go to school and he is very independent and determined. I will be very sad when he has to go to tiogue next year for kindergarten. I wish he could stay at blackrock.

Blackrock School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
We love Blackrock! The teachers are so involved and caring. Mrs. Castle, the principal goes above and beyond with the students. I couldnt be more pleased!

Nearby schools

Blackrock School
12 Lacasa Dr, Coventry, RI  02816
(401) 822-9450
Last modified Blackrock School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top