Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Western Coventry School

Public | K-5 | 399 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2011

Excellent education.My child loves to go to school,he cried on the last day.His teacher made a DVD of the school year and how can you beat the involvment and caring of the school and the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

What a wonderful school. The parent involvement is so high it makes the community very strong. I have nothing but great things to say about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I have nothing but positive things to say about this school, the testing procedures and the way the teachers communicate with the parents and get the parents involved in the classroom. I was disappointed to read about 'favorites' in another review, and after 4 years of my son going to this school, I have yet to experience anything like this. My advice when sending your child to this school--get involved anyway you can. You and your child will benefit from it Showing as much support as your time can afford--even if it is only sending pleasant feedback to the teachers/staff. Get involved. You will love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I have two children that attend is this school. And although the curriculm is superior to other schools in the area, the faculty are another story. There is constant favoritism shown to students that have parents who either work for the school or are involved in the PTA, or simply volunteer at the school. Their children are given special treatment and complaints of bullying are handled poorly or disregarded completely. Although my children are receiving a superior education, their social and emotional well being are being compromised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

I have two children that attend this school. We came from the highest rated school in cranston. Western has a better teaching staff, principal, and family friendly community. They get my highest praise. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

As a former student of Western Coventry, I was anxious for my daughter to start. I was pleased to see that although some things have changed it still feels the same. The students are encouraged to challenge themselves and as a parent I always feel welcome whether volunteering or just visiting. I do think that too much emphasis is placed on grade level testing, but that has more to do with the school district than the school. Even some of the teachers I had as a child were still there teaching, that says a lot to me. It still feels like home. Nothing like a country school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

The education is great, but the faculty themselves upset me. I have heard teachers at this school talk about parents and students openly with other people around. Privacy is not valued at this school and I feel as some teachers do not display feelings that children needs as they grow. The education is great, but some of the faculty members are below par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

As a parent who has experienced both public and private schools I feel Western Coventry is equal to if not above. The quality of education, parent and teacher envolvement is far beyond what I had expected. The individual needs of our children are always meet. The standards for our school is set high and in my opinion are meet. Any child attending this school is sure to get the best possible education available in our state, regardless if it be public or private. I did my homework before moving to this district and it payed off for myself and my children. Anyone considering moving to this district should just talk to the parents like myself you will be amazed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2003

I compare this school with private school. Their curriculum is demanding and standards high, but isn't that what we expect from schooling? Parent involvement is high and is very much promoted. I wouldn't think of any other public school I'd like my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 59% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged students57%
Not economically disadvantaged students83%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%

Reading

All Students79%
Female90%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged students64%
Not economically disadvantaged students85%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students88%
Female92%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged students82%
Not economically disadvantaged students90%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female98%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged students88%
Not economically disadvantaged students90%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students69%
Female77%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged students54%
Not economically disadvantaged students72%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female92%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged students54%
Not economically disadvantaged students86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female73%
Male34%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged students53%
Not economically disadvantaged students53%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 65%
Black 2% 8%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 21%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4588 Flat River Rd
Coventry, RI 02816
Phone: (401) 397-3355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lighthouse Christian Academy
West Greenwich, RI




Meadowbrook School
West Greenwich, RI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT