Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chester W. Barrows School

Public | K-5 | 219 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

Love this school! My son has attended the1st and 2nd grade here and he is excelling academically. We are very happy with the teacher and parent interaction. The principle is always accessible and involved in my sons day to day environment as well. We have had several incidents while my son is still learning his boundaries and the teachers and principle were very supportive and understanding to our son and to us as parents while we all worked together to resolve his issues. While still maintaining a firm stance with him so he learns responsibility. Very highly recommended school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

The team of teachers and administration at Chester Barrows is surely impressive. The school provides a community, as well as structure that is needed for children to succeed in the future. While my son only attended Barrows for two years, I quickly learned how dedicated the staff is. Barrows certainly is a Great SchooL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is the best! Both my daughter and my son love the teachers, principal, and the other children. I highly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The kids here are very smart, and the teachers do alot to make them that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

Chester Barrows is a school that sincerely cares about the children. They curriculum is always new and exciting along with the teachers that have to teach it. Our new principal, Mr. Rotz, truly loves the kids and I truly think knows everyone's name, along with Mrs. 'K', the school secretary. The PTO is very parent involved and raise quite a bit of money for the children. I am thrilled with Chester Barrows, it brings back the old neighborhood school!! Patty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

What an outstanding school! My son was in private school for 3 years before going to Barrows, and now that we are moving, I am still searching hard for a school that even compares. Teachers are effective, parent involvement is great, and students truly get ahead. Better than private school, I highly reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

When I tell you that this is the type of school you only dream about, it's the truth. Mr. J, the principal, and his staff do such an outstanding job that I would have based my decision to move to Cranston based on Barrows alone. This is the type of school that a working mom doesn't mind taking her child to, and I'm very happy and fortunate Barrows is here to educate my children. Thank you, Mr. J and the facilitators of the Independent Education Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

I have a daughter in kindergarten and she comes home and teaches me and my wife things that we forgot over the years. The teacher is very thorough with each student and assures a proper education while maintaning a level of fun. I recommend this school to any parent in the area looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I have two granddaughters one is still a student at Chester Barrows and the other has just graduated. Each of them has had a very positive elementry school career at this warm and progressive facility. The teachers are concerned and caring people who go the extra mile to encourage each student and to make the child feel an important person and a person of worth. The PTO is extremely active and the students benefit enormously from the efforts put forth by the members of this organization. I have not seen the like at any other school and I have visited many. The school is kept clean and safe and discipline is maintained with each student being made to understand the importanace of working together and respecting themselves and others. With all of this there is a sense of kindness and affection prevailing throughout the staff for the students which is reciprocated by the children. Mr. Jamison, Mr. J to the children, staff and parents is an extraordnary person who is dedicated to his calling and would be an asset to any educational facility. A warm and caring leader. Parents and grandparents are made welcome and indeed are encourged to take part in school activities and celebrations. Any child would be fortunate to metriculate at the Chester Barrows School


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 59% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students63%
Female60%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
White (non-Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged students52%
Not economically disadvantaged students83%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant63%

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
White (non-Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged students53%
Not economically disadvantaged students92%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students58%
Female47%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged students55%
Not economically disadvantaged students60%
Title I40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant58%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female58%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
White (non-Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged students70%
Not economically disadvantaged students50%
Title I47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged students48%
Not economically disadvantaged students72%
Title I15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged students60%
Not economically disadvantaged students88%
Title I46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant74%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students50%
Female69%
Male24%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged students36%
Not economically disadvantaged students64%
Title I15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Non-migrant50%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 65%
Hispanic 24% 21%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Black 8% 8%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Beachmont Ave
Cranston, RI 02905
Phone: (401) 270-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Paul School
Cranston, RI



St. Matthew School
Cranston, RI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT