Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Daniel D. Waterman School 1

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
The zero bullying policy is not followed. The school has dropped 17 slots in 2 years, w are #83 out of 114 elementary schools in RI. The new principal Mr. DePalma is unaffected in everything he does. I was affiliated w/ any & all school activities, I have stopped do to the lack of his common knowledge of rules & regulations. I am saddened by not being involved any longer.

Daniel D. Waterman School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Melillo, 4th grade takes the time & I feel the children must earn grades to pass. The no child left behind is only going to hurt children in the long run. She is very structured, for that I thank her.


Daniel D. Waterman School 3

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
The constant change of principals had nothing to do with the actual principals, and more to do with the difficult parents and the administration who go where the wind blows. Some good teachers, some not so good, like any school. Tons of infighting with the employees. The current principal is not that experienced, and does not run a tight ship. We had a very spotty few years - some very low points and some okay times. Biggest issue is the lack of discipline in the school - comes from the top. The school has always needed a strong leader and has yet to have one.

Daniel D. Waterman School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My son attended this school for 2 years, 3rd and 4th grade. His 3rd grade teacher was a first year, recent grad, teacher and she was phenominal. The special ed teacher for the duration of time is excellent. One thing I noticed about this school was the inconsistency in principals. His first year the position was filled by 3 candidates. It's almost as though they try it out, don't like the fit and move on or they are using the school as a stepping stone. Either way, this year was a complete waste. The current principal seems to hate children, his regular teacher yells and screams, behaving like one of the students and the school has allowed a severely mentally challenged child into the classroom. Even a regular child, this mentally challenged child is distracting child, such as my son, who is easily distracted with this childs hourly outbursts and tantrums. My son, and some other children will likely be repeating this year due to this poor decision to integrate this challenged child into a regular classroom setting. Very poor school. One of the worst for the area. If you have a choice, send your childto another school in the area. Luckily there are many to choose from.

Daniel D. Waterman School 4

Posted June 17, 2010
- a parent
Great principal who brought up test scores and is very professional. Parent group is very tough and negative, however. That may change with time, tho. No one wants to attend the meetings. There IS gifted programming, also, despite what one of the reviews said.


Daniel D. Waterman School 4

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
Great school--great principal! Neighborhood very friendly! Building is antiquated, but virtually every portion of it seems to support student programming. Teachers and staff friendly and fairly 'no-nonsense.' Wish there was more 'grassy' areas for the kids to play on outside and wish there was at least some extra-curricular/creative learning models (e.g. gifted programming, non-traditional programming, etc.)

Daniel D. Waterman School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This neighborhood school is fantastic, with a low student to teacher ratio and a dedicated close-knit parent group. I have two children who attend Waterman and both have excelled in school. The only critisism would be that it is an older school and some indoor renovations should be made.

Daniel D. Waterman School 5

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
Great school in a great neighborhood


Daniel D. Waterman School 5

Posted October 12, 2007
- a student
i was a student here . and i loved this school .

Nearby schools

Daniel D. Waterman School
722 Pontiac Ave, Cranston, RI  02910
(401) 270-8013
Last modified Daniel D. Waterman School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top