Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgewood Highland School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

Edgewood Highlands does not have a huge new facility but it is well-maintained and pleasant. The administrators and teachers are friendly and accessible. The diversity is wonderful--all those beautiful faces! As at any school, student success is a matter of family involvement and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

We have been an Edgewood family for almost 3 years and we have been very happy with the school. Like other reviewers have said, it feels like an extended family in many ways. Every teacher we have dealt with has been excellent and worked to ensure that my son reaches his full potential and enjoys learning. Every time we walk in the building, it is apparent that the staff and students are happy to be there. The principal truly cares about each student and family and is always willing to work with the PTO to bring additional activities to the school. The diversity is refreshing, and although the demographics bring challenges I feel that EHS meets them in positive ways that improve the community for all. I am proud to be an EHS parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

We have two girls who attend EHS, one in 5th grade and one in 2nd grade. We have been an EHS family for 6 years. My girls love their school. The principle knows every single child and their siblings and families. We love the diversity of the student body. The PTO is active; the students have a wide variety of in school assemblies and field trips. The teachers are always available to meet with parents and seem to be invested in getting the best out of their students. Every summer the teachers participate in trainings and are well trained in class content and classroom behavior management. They seem to really care about the kids. This benefits the students who seem happy to be there and seems to generally get along with others which make the activities, events and field trips to be enjoyable times. The school could definitely benefit from $5000. Our cafeteria/ gym/ auditorium is in desperate need of sound proofing. The Building would also benefit from some attention from the Cranston School Dept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

Test scores don't say everything about a school. My children have always gone to Edgewood and I am going to be sad when the last one leaves. The school is like a giant extended family. As the mural in the lobby says 'we are the world', it's a very diverse school. The principal is very hands on, knows all the children and parents by name. Most of the teachers my children have had are top notch, going out of their way to make sure each of my children makes the most of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

It is a community school, supported by the surrounding neighborhood and the students families. Diversity is important to me. A school that models the real world gives children an advantage in forming their values. Edgewood Highland is such a school. My son has benefited from knowing children of different races and religions. His knowledge of the world and what to expect are informed by his experiences. The teachers are available and involved. The PTO is robust and active. My son has excelled in his classwork and is excited about his education and school. I give this school a high rating for all these reasons
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

I've had a great experience with both my kids at Edgewood Highland. The teachers really go above and beyond. All the teachers have been very accessible - we meet "officially" several times a year but I've always been able to meet any other time as well. Don't be concerned about the test scores (we have a lot of non-native speakers for whom standardized testing is considerably more difficult). High ability kids are challenged here and ones who need extra help are given it. Plus this must be the most diverse school I've ever been in (not that the kids notice that at all). We're so happy this is our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

My children have received quality educations at Edgewood Highland School. I feel that my children are safe when they are at school. My children are treated with kindness and respect by their peers and by their teachers. Edgewood Highland offers a wide variety of culturally diverse assemblies that educate the students on a global scale. The student population is ethnically diverse and truly represents the real world, which is something that is important to me as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Edgewood Highland School is an amazing environment for learning. The school is filled with extremely talented and patient teachers and the principal is one of a kind. I had my child in a private school prior and I regret having her at the private school when she could have been at Edgewood Highland. My child is encouraged to want to learn, given the tools to learn and rewarded for her effort. Saying all this you'd think Edgewood Highland was in a community made up of middle to upper income families. Edgewood Highland has a 58% poverty rate. The teachers, principal and PTO members raise money to supply the kids with field trips, playground paintings and family nights. This school could greatly benefit from being $5000. Honestly if someone dropped off $20 in the office the school would be so thankful. Every penny helps. I would love to see the lunch room (which is also the assembly room) improved to make it a place the children are proud of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I would give this school less stars, if possible. The lack of drive to educate non-gifted students by teachers, curtailed with the leadership of an unprofessional principal, does not provide room to help children succeed. If you child is a A-B child, this will not change. If your child enters s a C-D child, his/her confidence will dwindle on account of the negative interaction with teachers, which is clearly obvious even with parent/teacher interaction. It is unfortunate that the great school system of Cranston has allowed this school to continue with its current organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

This school is a Title I school and has a number of students who are ESL. over the past few years the Principle has focused on improving scores. this year they met most of their targets. We are very pleased with our experience at EHS. both my 5th grader and 2nd grader love going to school every day. they are high preforming kids who work hard at doing well in school. this is the type of school where the Principle knows every student by name. disruptive behaviors are managed and little evidence of bullying at school. teachers are easy to engage in conversation and are dedicated to their students progression. the students are generally supportive of their classmates and work together. it is a great little school, being Title I there are extra resources. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

My son has attended this school since grade 1 and is now in grade 5, and absolutely loves it at Edgewood Highland. The teachers and staff are excellent. Its like a big extended family. All the students look out for each other, and get along. The teachers treat the kids as if they would their own. I am at total peace when my son goes to school. Every school should model themselves after this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

I have 3 freinds that go to this school and they discribed what it is like because I wanted to know because I live in MA.


Posted August 3, 2006

The quality of education at this school varies greatly with each teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Edgewood Highlands is a very diverse school, economically, racially and culturally. We have been very please with the academic program; the teachers and administrators have gone above and beyond to meet my sons needs. He is reading well above his grade level and his teachers have been very accommodating, giving him more difficult books and sending him to the higher grade for reading. The parents are very involved, although many work and cannot make it during the school day. Even if they are not there, most are very committed to their child's education. There is an affordable after-school care program, plus art classes sponsored by the PTO taught by a RISD grad. The music and art programs during school are acceptable. The strings teacher is one of the best music teacher in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 59% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students49%
Female40%
Male56%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian45%
Hispanic or Latino30%
White (non-Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged students41%
Not economically disadvantaged students69%
Title I53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)25%
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant49%

Reading

All Students66%
Female70%
Male63%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian82%
Hispanic or Latino47%
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged students59%
Not economically disadvantaged students84%
Title I66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)58%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students56%
Female72%
Male36%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
White (non-Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged students48%
Not economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Title I63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant56%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female83%
Male39%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
White (non-Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged students57%
Not economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Title I66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant64%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students41%
Female39%
Male43%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged students31%
Not economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Title I45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant41%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female77%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged students67%
Not economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Title I75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant71%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students59%
Female72%
Male48%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged students56%
Not economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Title I64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant59%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students53%
Female53%
Male52%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged students48%
Not economically disadvantaged students65%
Title I45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged students71%
Not economically disadvantaged students86%
Title I71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant74%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 22%
White 29% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 3%
Black 8% 8%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 Pawtuxet Ave
Cranston, RI 02905
Phone: (401) 270-8065

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Paul School
Cranston, RI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT