Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park View Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

The school is amazing! Even though there aren't sports, they have tons and tons of in-school and after-school activities like basketball games, volleyball tournaments, may madness, lots of dances etc,. Huge track, baseball field, tennis court, basketball court and a park! Amazing.


Posted April 27, 2012

Police roam the school drug bust have happened fighting and teachers talking negative to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Mr. Rotz is a great principal. He runs a tight ship. Could do without the guidance counselor, Mrs. Conley however. Unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

this is a very nice school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I believe the teachers at Park View are doing their jobs well. Unfortunately, there are some parents who have the mindset that it's solely up to the teachers to keep children interested in learning. I am not a teacher, but I do know they do not get paid enough to do the job they do! It's up to us to constantly be involved in our children's education, no matter how busy we may be. That's our job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

My years at Park View were definetly the three greatest of my life. everything there is perfect. the teachers, the classes, the extra cirricular activities... everything! my favorite part of PV was and still is there auditorium. it has awsome design and awsome lighting/sound. it is a perfect example of great theatre
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2005

Park View Middle School is an amazing school! I currently am attending my third year here and I loves it. I comes home each day happy, and have made many friends. All of the teachers that I have had, have been wonderfull. The Princible and Vice Princible are very nice and very involved. I would recomend Park View to andyone! I am very happy go to Park View Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2005

My daughter attended Park View, and unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend the school. She was in the most advanced classes and was not very challenged. All levels use the same curriculum and the highest level classes are not advanced enough. The acedemically gifted program is virtually non-existent. For two years, one of her major subject teachers was absent for most of the year. Although she was not subject to it, the bullying stories she shared were frightening. The teachers seemed to ignore it. There is not an atmosphere of cooperation between the teachers and students; once when she entered the school trying to manage a large band instrument and a bulky school project, an administrator threatened detention for not removing her winter hat instead of offering help. She had some exceptional teachers, especially in sixth grade math, science and English and enjoys the afterschool activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

I have had two children pass through the doors of Park View Middle School and I have one child currently in attendance. I am also a teacher on staff. I choose to send my children to this school due to the dedication of the staff and the many opportunities available to students through activities during and after school. In addition expectations are high for student achievement and clear expectations are in place. Park View has now been ranked as a high performing school by achieving all of the objectives determined by the RI Department of Education. I always knew this to be true but now it has been documented. As a parent I feel my children are earning an excellent education here. And as a teacher I know that my students receive the same quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

My son has been at Park View for almost two years now, and I am very concerned about the utter tolerance of bullying and harassment which continues, despite a new administration. The bullies are in control, the victims are at great risk, and the witnesses are afraid to disclose. There is some outstanding teaching, guidance, and resource at this school, but I fear my child and others will not benefit, due partly to their fear of intimidation and their experience with lack of discipline to those who merit it most. - Margaret Connell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2004

I have found Park View Middle School, to be inadequat at best. It is very troubling to talk to so many students, and recieve the same responces. the teachers are not doing their best to keep the young adults interested in daily tasks.they are not trying to expand thier minds, and are opinionated at best. The very easy to teach students are being catered to, and the students with some form of attention disorder, are not being looked after. very good students are now failing or close to failing. The student does have a great resposability to make the teachers teach, and to do the required work, and it must be demanded from the student. this does not seem to be the case on either side. Much work needs to be done in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students62%
Female60%
Male64%
Black or African American39%
Asian82%
Hispanic or Latino48%
Multiracial38%
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged students52%
Not economically disadvantaged students75%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)40%
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant62%

Reading

All Students74%
Female72%
Male77%
Black or African American73%
Asian78%
Hispanic or Latino61%
Multiracial70%
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged students65%
Not economically disadvantaged students84%
Title I68%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male55%
Black or African American50%
Asian66%
Hispanic or Latino35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged students45%
Not economically disadvantaged students65%
Title I55%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)23%
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant55%

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male78%
Black or African American90%
Asian83%
Hispanic or Latino78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged students80%
Not economically disadvantaged students87%
Title I84%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)52%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant84%

Writing

All Students72%
Female84%
Male59%
Black or African American80%
Asian78%
Hispanic or Latino66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged students66%
Not economically disadvantaged students80%
Title I74%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 64%
Hispanic 25% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 6% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Park View Blvd
Cranston, RI 02910
Phone: (401) 270-8090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Matthew School
Cranston, RI


St Paul School
Cranston, RI




St Peter School
Warwick, RI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT